Jesper Vesterstrom claims Downunder Pro 2014

January 13, 2014 | Windsurfing
Jesper Vesterstrom: Danish victory in Australian waters

Jesper Vesterstrom has conquered the Downunder Pro 2014, at Botany Bay, Sydney, Australia.

The final day of the 2014 Downunder Pro - Formula Windsurfing Oceanic and Australian Championships got underway with only two points separating first and second overall.

Sean O'Brien, who was right behind the leader, had a good starboard start to lead towards the first mark, before a mistake downwind opened the door for his rival Jesper Vesterstrom.

The windsurfer from Denmark was able to hold on to the win in the first race, cementing his lead. O'Brien needed to dig deep in the second race to have a chance to come back.

O'Brien and Vesterstrom match-raced in their own pocket of the course, sailing in to a massive wind hole in the second race and were becalmed for almost 2 minutes, allowing third placed overall Luke Baillie to storm ahead and win the race by over one minute.

Sean O'Brien managed to keep second, and Vesterstrom fought back from fifth, at the bottom mark on the second lap, to third over the line. This third place was enough for Vesterstrom to secure the title.

Sean took the 2014 Formula Windsurfing Oceanic Championship title, and his seventh Australian Formula Windsurfing trophy.

"Pretty happy with the result! The event timing was tricky to have all the new equipment arrive in time so I hadn't had a chance to try one single piece of gear before the event"

In the Grand Masters division, a hotly contested division, Rick Murray was able to hold-off Tibor Firenczy and Glenn Morrell.

2014 Downunder Pro | Results

1. Jesper Vesterstrom
2. Sean O'Brien
3. Luke Baillie
4. Sam Parker
5. Brett Morris uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.