Kevin Pritchard wins the 2015 Baja Desert Showdown

August 15, 2015 | Windsurfing
Kevin Pritchard: he scored the biggest aerial of the competition | Photo: Luckybeanz/AWT

Kevin Pritchard has conquered the 2015 Baja Desert Showdown, at Punta San Carlos, in Mexico.

The fourth stop on the American Windsurfing Tour has crowned a Pro champion in the last and decisive day of the waiting period. The four-man final included Kevin McGillivray, Ian Mouro, Boujmaa Guilloul and Pritchard.

There were plenty of head-to-half mast high waves to be ridden. Mouro started well and found a couple of seven-point waves. Guilloul answered with a rail grab aerial, flowing turns and two more aerials.

But Pritchard knew he had to do something to steal the show and keep the title hopes alive. As a result, the American windsurfer eyed a set wave and launched into the most spectacular aerial of the entire competition. He'd just secured an 8.50-point ride.

The Moroccan tried to respond, but it was too late. Kevin Pritchard had won in Baja California, and the title race couldn't be closer. Next stop: Pacasmayo, in Peru.

2015 Baja Desert Showdown | Pro Final

1. Kevin Pritchard
2. Boujmaa Guilloul
3. Ian Mouro
4. Kevin McGillivray