Koster and Moreno triumph in the 2011 Tenerife World Cup

July 22, 2011 | Windsurfing
Philip Koster: two in a row

Philip Koster and Daida Ruano Moreno secured their second victory on the 2011 world tour, despite attacks from wave sailing demons Dany Bruch and Iballa Ruano Moreno in the double elimination, leading to a dramatic end as the sailors had to confirm their dominance in the nail biting super-finals.

The world’s most incredible wave sailors were blown away by the insane conditions that Tenerife delivered between 14th-20th July. Seven days of mast high waves and howling winds ensured the official competition was completed in record time.

The opening jumps saw Koster rotate around a super-fast double forward loop, and Bruch drop out the sky on two pushloop attempts. Unhappy with his aerials Bruch stormed out the back of the arena and picked up an enormous wave, the local sailor continued with his wave rides throughout the heat outdoing himself with every turn.

Koster was struggling to stay upright after his initial smacks. Koster held the advantage with the jumps up until the final minute when Bruch launched into a one-footed backloop. Bruch’s hard work paid off and he was awarded the win with a 2-1 decision from the judges.

Having taken down the event leader, Bruch now had to take him on again in a super-final to decide once and for all who would be crowned the event winner.

In the Men’s Super-final, the duo took to the water once again, enraged by his earlier performance Koster flew around his opening double forward loop landing bolt upright. The sailors picked up waves, but both fell off the back on initiating their maneuvers. Bruch picked up a big wave and dominated it all the way to the beach, Koster replied with his own equally impressive wave.

Determined to take the win Koster launched into his second double forward loop but this time landed planning. The judges were amazed by his performance and awarded him the highest scores. Koster was announced the overall event winner at the prizing giving on the beach.

The twins Iballa and Daida Ruano Moreno, took centre stage once again and went to work displaying their most impressive moves. Iballa was fired up from her previous win and landed a clean backloop providing her with the advantage.

She then went on to select the largest waves in the heat and take the biggest risks, working them frontside all the way to the inside, while Daida was playing it safe pulling her most consistent jumps and tackling the tamer waves upwind. Iballa was awarded for her efforts with the heat win, meaning the pair would have to enter the super-final to decide who would take the event title.

In the Women’s Super-final, having seen her sisters’ tactics Daida was ready for battle, she opened the heat a smooth wave ride providing her with the early advantage. Eager to land a backloop Iballa went for six attempts but the ramps weren’t launching her high enough. Daida continued with her wave riding in front of the judges and then secured the heat win with a perfect backloop in the closing seconds.

2011 Tenerife World Cup | Results


1st Philip Koster (Starboard / NeilPryde / Dakine)
2nd Daniel Bruch (Starboard / Severne / AL360)
3rd Jaeger Stone (Severne)
4th Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde)
5th Alex Mussolini (Tabou / Gaastra)
6th Ricardo Campello (JP / NeilPryde / MFC)
7th Boujmaa Guilloul (Starboard / Severne / Mystic)
7th Dario Ojeda (Tabou / Simmer / MFC / Dakine)


1st Daida Ruano Moreno (Starboard / Severne)
2nd Iballa Ruano Moreno (Starboard / Severne)
3rd Nayra Alonso (Fanatic / Severne)
4th Karin Jaggi (Patrik / Severne)
5TH Laure Treboux (North / Fanatic)
6th Evi Tsape (F2 / North)
7th Fanny Aubet (JP / NeilPryde)
7th Heike Reimann (Hot Sails)