Mexican RS:X windsurfers have been crowned

December 10, 2010 | Windsurfing

Mexican RS:X windsurfers: preparing to conquer the world

The 2010 Mexican National Windsurfing Championships have successfully been concluded at Marina La Amada, Cancún.

Eight splendid races got underway in three days of competition. The wind blew from 8 to 22 knots and 50 windsurfers took part in the event. The sailors had ages between 11 and 45 years old.

David Mier y Terán dominated the Olympic Men's category (RS:X) by winning all races. The battle for the silver medal was very tight, but local boy Mauricio Martinez used his experience to beat Isaias Minor, the third of the podium.

In the Women's Olympic category, Demito Vega also took first place easily by winning all challenges. The second place went to Nicole Level, while Carla Quintanilla secured the bronze trophy.

The Youth division showed a great improvement in the level of competition. Currently, Mexico has a very well prepared fleet to do a good job in the 2011 San Francisco Worlds.

Final Results

RS:X Men
1-David Mier y Terán MEX1
2-Mauricio Martinez MEX2
3-Isaias Minor MEX6

RS:X Women
1-Demita Vega MEX5
2-Nicole Level MEX13
3-Carla Quintanilla MEX26

Techo 293 Men 7.8m
1-Ignacio Berenguer MEX11
2-José Davila MEX10

Techno 293 Women 7.8m
1-Diana Valera MEX15
2-Fernanda Gutierrez MEX40

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: