Morgan Noireaux claims Aloha Classic and 2017 IWT title

November 13, 2017 | Windsurfing
Morgan Noireaux: he put on a dominant performance at Hookipa | Photo: Crowther/IWT

Morgan Noireaux and Sarah Hauser have taken out the Aloha Classic 2017, at Hookipa, in Maui, Hawaii.

The 2017 International Windsurfing Tour (IWT) season is over, and what a better way to wrap up the year than with mast-high sets and intense wave sailing clashes.

The pro men's final had Camille Juban, Kevin Pritchard, Morgan Noireaux, and Bernd Roediger battling it out for the prestigious trophy.

The decisive heat had constant lead changes, with windsurfers trading massive airs, critical turns, goiters, and big wave rides. In the end, all four athletes ended up separated by only one point, but it was Noireaux who claimed the win.

"I felt pretty good. Coming in at the end of the heat, I knew I had done everything I could have done. This is pretty rare - I usually come in thinking I could have done a lot more so I was super happy," explained Noireaux.

In the pro women's division, Sarah Hauser, Tatiana Howard, Vickey Abbott, and Shawna Cropas proved that the ladies are making considerable progress, and have raised the bar high in the last couple of seasons.

However, the New Caledonia-born sailor put out a magnificent performance and won the event with a sharp display of full rail turns and airs.

"I am super stoked to win. I had no idea I had won until the end again. I kept seeing all the other girls getting big waves and making great turns. It is a dream to win the Aloha Classic," added Hauser.

The season has come to an end, and Morgan Noireaux and Annamaria Zollet are the 2017 IWT champions.

2017 International Windsurfing Tour | Top 5

1. Morgan Noireaux
2. Boujmaa Guilloul
3. Kevin Pritchard
4. Federico Morisio
5. Russ Faurot

1. Annamaria Zollet
2. Sam Bittner
3. Sarah Hauser
4. Tatiana Howard
5. Flora Vergnoll uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.