Morisio and Zola raise the Italian flag in the waves of Pacasmayo

September 12, 2017 | Windsurfing
Frederico Morisio: he won his first windsurfing contest in Pacasmayo | Photo: Crowther/IWT

Italian windsurfer Frederico Morisio will never forget the 2017 Pacasmayo Wave Classic, held in Peru.

The talented young PWA World Tour campaigner won his first ever windsurfing contest at the iconic Peruvian left-hand point break of Pacasmayo. And his job was not an easy one.

Morisio faced Russ Faurot, Yann Rifflet, and Morgan Noireaux in a 30-minute final. Rifflet unleashed a few aerial moves, and Faurot found long rides in which he applied smooth turns, but they eventually had to settle for the fourth and third places.

Noireaux and Morisio were on fire. There were vertical hacks, powerful carves, airs, and top-to-bottom wave sailing performances. With 15 minutes on the clock, the Italian was looking for a second scoring wave.

Eventually, Morisio found a gem and locked in the score he needed to write a new chapter in his career.

"I couldn't believe it, and I still can't believe it. Two years and a half ago, I decided to change my life and dedicate myself soul and body to follow my biggest passion and live my dream," expressed Frederico Morisio.

"I won my first international contest ever. I have no words. All the hard work, commitment, and dedication really paid off. I felt so honored to compete against some of the best windsurfers in the world. Loving windsurfing and life."

On the women's side, Sabine Zola proved she is a fearless wave sailor. The Italian found the biggest waves and was able to hit the critical sections in the exact moment.

"Seeing the results, for me, opens a new door for another great adventure. Hawaii, I'm coming! Congratulations to all the girls who participated in this event! Thanks to all who supported me from the beginning and believed it," concluded Zola.

2017 Pacasmayo Wave Classic | Finals

1. Frederico Morisio
2. Morgan Noireaux
3. Russ Faurot
4. Yann Rifflet

1. Sabine Zola
2. Maria Andres
3. Bjoerte Puerschel
4. Bettina Gonzalez

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019