Paulo dos Reis claims 2012 Downunder Pro

February 6, 2012 | Windsurfing
Paulo dos Reis: the Australian is right behind you

Paulo dos Reis has captured the 2012 Downunder Pro, at picturesque Jimmy’s Beach, Hawks Nest, Australia. The Brazilian racer dominated the four-day regatta by winning all 7 races over the event ahead of Jesper Vesterstrøm, from Denmark, and 56 other windsurfers.

"This was the first time I’ve come to Australia and I was very impressed with the hospitality and the great racing conditions. It was windy, and that’s the conditions I like, so I’m very happy to win and I will definitely be back next year", says Paulo dos Reis.

Sean O'Brien, event organizer and defending champion, was the first Australian over the line coming in a clear 5th overall and just 2 points behind 4th placed Mathias Pinheiro, from Brazil.

O’Brien becomes the Oceanic and Australian Formula Windsurfing champion for the 6th time now as international competitors are ineligible for the title. He has been racing in Hawks Nest for over 12 years now.

"We picked this beach to run the event for more than just the quality sailing it produces. It’s got a small town vibe which is great for families who compete, there’s plenty of other things to do for the non-windsurfers and the conditions this place produces are absolutely World-Class. I had a great event and punishing Mathias in the last race really capped it off for me", said O'Brien.

Brett Morris had a battle on his hands finishing 2nd Australian and 6th overall in the event, just 2 points ahead of Luke Baillie (Gaastra/Neilpryde) from Brisbane.

Despite the race crew’s attempts at getting a final light wind race in today to cap off the event, Brett was able to hold on to his 2nd Australian position, despite sitting deep in the standings during the final race attempt today, with Baillie just nipping at the heels of race leaders Schurmann and Vesterstrøm.

A new division for the sailors new to the Formula Windsurfing class called ‘Free Formula’ was run for the fifth time at a National Titles this year. The division allows newer sailors the opportunity to race at the same time as the Pro Division but sail one less lap than the top sailors.

This class has seen the biggest growth in the past few seasons with 22 competitors taking part in this year’s event. The division was dominated by Darryl Griffiths from Western Australia, ahead of Tim Ford and Adam Craven .

In the Youth division a World-Class fleet competed with event winner and 2nd time overall champion at this event, Aldo ‘Bebeko’ Maia came all the way downunder from Brazil to finish ahead of Reece Baillie and Laird O’Brien.

Multiple time Australian title holder Wayne Bowness won a very contested Grand-Master division ahead of Tim Wood from England but based in New Zealand, and local legend Rick Murray.

2012 Downunder Pro | Results

1. Paulo Dos Reis
2. Jesper Vesterstrom
3. Wilhelm Schurmann
4. Mathias Pinheiro
5. Sean O'Brien
6. Brett Morris
7. Luke Baillie
8. Byron McIlveen
9. Steven Walsh
10. Remi Dunoyer