Philip Koster is the 2012 PWA Wave Windsurfing champion

September 21, 2012 | Windsurfing
Thomas Traversa: epic victory over Philip Köster

Thomas Traversa has conquered the PWA KIA Cold Hawaii World Cup, after deating Philip Köster in Klitmoller, Denmark. At the age of 18, Köster is the 2012 PWA Wave champion.

Light winds and small waves forced a super final consisted of the best two waves over a duration of twenty-five minutes. No worries, Thomas Traversa and Philip Köster wanted to win.

The first blood in the super final went to Thomas Traversa. TT picked up a great first wave within the first few minutes, and he linked a super nice frontside, into backside followed by another frontside hit, whilst Köster’s first wave closed out on him, giving the early advantage to Traversa.

A few moments later Traversa then scored his highest scoring wave of the heat, as he unleashed a couple of radical backside smacks, before finishing with a silky smooth frontside.

After working his way upwind, Köster, delivered the wave of the heat. The double world champion opened with a quite brilliant backside 360 in the light conditions, before linking in a couple of extra front and backside hacks.

This wave saw him score 7.88 points across the board and put Köster right back in contention, after a slow start. However, Traversa notched up another solid wave and despite his best efforts, Köster, couldn’t find the wave he needed to respond as he scored 4.38 points for his final wave.

The end result meant that Traversa’s better wave selection had secured him his first ever victory by 0.87 points, he also became the first man to defeat Köster, after a five event winning streak.

"I'm super happy, I managed to find one really good wave and then a couple of ok waves. The wind was very, very, very light, but for once I had the advantage of being light. It feels crazy and unreal at the moment", says Thomas Traversa.

2012 PWA KIA Cold Hawaii World Cup | Results

1st Thomas Traversa (Tabou / Gaastra)
2nd Philip Köster (Starboard / NeilPryde / Maui Ultra Fins)
3rd Victor Fernandez (Fanatic / North)
4th Ricardo Campello (JP / NeilPryde / MFC)
5th Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde)