Philip Köster steals the 2013 PWA Tenerife World Cup

August 8, 2013 | Windsurfing
Philip Köster: a frontside 360 to seal the deal

Philip Köster has snatched the 2013 PWA Tenerife World Cup, in strong swell and winds conditions, at El Medano. Daida Ruano Moreno has also returned to victory mode.

In the Winners' Final, longtime rivals Victor Fernandez - who was in sensational form - and the reigning world champion Philip Köster pushed their limits.

Fernandez was leading for a while as he demonstrated his excellent wave selection and outstanding execution again, before landing a massive double forward right in front of Köster.

At this point, the wonderkid stormed upwind and found himself the perfect ramp for an outstanding stalled double forward. From here, Köster landed a huge frontside wave 360 before adding a super stylish taka.

Before the heat was finished the 19-year-old also launched himself into an extremely stylish one-handed, one-footed backloop to score the highest score of the week - 35.43 points - and in doing so deservedly claim the event title as he makes the perfect start to the season.

"I saw Victor's big double and with it being the final I knew I had to go big, especially because Victor was sailing so well", says Köster.

"I wanted to go for a pushloop forward but I couldn't find the right ramp for it, but I was really happy with my stalled forward, I went higher than I was expecting and I'm really stoked to win the event".

In the Women's division, only a Super Final would untie The Ruano Moreno sisters. With Iballa looking to storm back and take the victory in exactly the same circumstances as last year, Daida stepped up her performance to claim her first victory since July 2011.

"You all saw what Iballa can do in the final. In the warm-up I damaged my 74ltr board and had to take a smaller board in the final, which made things a bit more difficult, but overall I'm super stoked", underlines Daida.

2013 PWA Tenerife World Cup Men's Wave | Results

1. Philip Köster
2. Victor Fernandez
3. Alex Mussolini
4. Ricardo Campello
5. Thomas Traversa

2013 PWA Tenerife World Cup Women's Wave | Results

1. Daida Ruano Moreno
2. Iballa Ruano Moreno
3. Karin Jaggi
4. Steffi Wahl
5. Nayra Alonso

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2021 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers