Pro windsurfers finish the 2011 PWA World Tour

October 3, 2011 | Windsurfing
Brawzinho: sunset dreams

The 2011 Professional Windsurfers Association Tour is over after concluding the Reno World Cup Sylt. The spectacular action crowned new world champions.

In the Men's Slalom rankings, Bjorn Dunkerbeck returned to glory in this season and left Antoine Albeau in the runner-up position, a place he is not used to. Dunkerbeck has delivered a fantastic season of races and has been seen to recover from even the trickiest of situations.

Antoine Albeau has secured his podium finish with two event wins and, in third place, sits Ben Van Der Steen having had an exceptional season on tour.

In the Men's Freestyle rankings, we saw tough battle between windsurfers, but Steven Van Broeckhoven has emerged victorious. He has blown the judges away at all seven of the stops this year with his huge moves and has rightfully been awarded the world title.

Kiri Thode has had his most successful year on tour winning two events to put him in second and Jose Estredo wowed the crowds in the Canaries to finish in third.

In the Men's Wave rankings, all eyes have been on the youth star Philip Koster this season and with three event wins under his belt it is no surprise. Koster has slayed his opponents with his incredible planing double forward all season.

The man with some of the highest jumps on tour Ricardo Campello sits in second place, and Brazilian Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde) has earned third for his stunning wave riding.

Daida Ruano Moreno has defended her Wave title for another year. Se has made sure she is a step ahead of her opponents all season by throwing the highest stalled forward and even a few doubles.

In second place her sister Iballa Ruano Moreno has been flying higher than ever to make sure she made every final, and in third place Nayra Alonso has had an extremely successful year on tour, slaying her opponents with her super-stylish wave riding.

Sarah-Quita Offringa blasted the opponents in Freestyle division and left Laure Treboux and Yolanda Freites de Brendt with a second and a third place. Next year, there's more to be enjoyed in the upcoming 2010 PWA World Tour.

2011 PWA Slalom (Men)

1st Steven Van Broeckhoven (F2 / Gaastra)
2nd Kiri Thode (Starboard / Gaastra)
3rd Jose Estredo (Fanatic / North)
4th Taty Frans (Starboard / MauiSails / Mystic / Maui Ultra Fins)
5th Davy Scheffers (Tabou / Gaastra)

2011 PWA Freestyle (Men)

1st Bjorn Dunkerbeck (Starboard / Severne / Mystic / DunkerbeckEyewear)
2nd Antoine Albeau (JP / NeilPryde)
3rd Ben Van Der Steen (Starboard / Loft / Mystic)
4th Cyril Moussilmani (Starboard / North)
5th Finian Maynard (RRD)

2011 PWA Wave (Men)

1st Philip Koster (Starboard / NeilPryde / Dakine / Maui Ultra Fins)
2nd Ricardo Campello (JP / NeilPryde / MFC)
3rd Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde)
4th Victor Fernandez Lopez (Fanatic / North)
5th Daniel Bruch (Starboard / Severne / AL 360)

2011 PWA Wave (Women)

1st Daida Ruano Moreno (Starboard / Severne)
2nd Iballa Ruano Moreno (Starboard / Severne)
3rd Nayra Alonso (Fanatic / Severne)
4th Karin Jaggi (Patrik / Severne)
5th Evi Tsape (F2 / North)

2011 PWA Freestyle (Women)

1st Sarah-Quita Offringa
2nd Laure Treboux
3rd Yolanda Freites de Brendt