Przemek Miarczynski wins the Delta Lloyd Regatta 2010

May 31, 2010 | Windsurfing

Przemek Miarczynski: clearly observing his opponents

The wind was very light when the RS:X men started their medal Race on Sunday morning.

Regatta leader Przemek Miarczynski (POL) won the race on the line to take his first title of the season. Andreas Carioulou (CYP) dominated the Medal Race but Miarczynski gradually caught up to pass him on the last meters.

'I was waiting for the gusts to catch up with Andreas. On the last run, I went to the right and did my job! It had been difficult racing, both physically and mentally. The light wind meant pumping constantly and looking out for the shifts and pressure.'

Going into the Medal race in fifth position, Nick Dempsey (GBR) took third place in the Medal Race and Silver in the event, with Nimrod Mashiah (ISR) keeping bronze, only one point from Piotr Myszka (POl) who loses his earlier second place to fourth.

Blanca Manchon (ESP), undefeated since the start of the event, wins the Delta Lloyd Regatta after a Medal race sailed at the back of the fleet: `Today I had to sail with Zofia Keplacka (POL) to make sure I stayed in front of her. It didn`t matter that I sailed in front or at the back. She is the only one that could threaten me!` The Pole takes Silver and Beijing bronze medallist, Bryony Shaw (GBR) the bronze. Marina Alabau (ESP) wins the Medal Race.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: