Sean O'Brien wins 7th Australian Formula Windsurfing title

January 22, 2014 | Windsurfing
Sean O'Brien: 7th Australian Formula Windsurfing title

Sean O'Brien recaptured the Australian Formula Windsurfing title, after an action-packed 11 races taking place at Georges River Sailing Club, in Sydney.

O'Brien clinched the seventh Australian Formula Windsurfing title of his career during the 2014 Downunder Pro, an event won by Jesper Vesterstrom by a very narrow margin.

With three races scheduled on the last day, and with Vesterstrom winning the first of the morning in relatively light winds, Sean O'Brien needed to dig deep in the second race to have a chance to come back.

A third place was enough for Vesterstrom to secure the event win. The race committee opted to halt racing for the day, as the wind became fluky and gusty and suitable racing conditions were lost.

The top 3 for the event remained as they started this final day: Vesterstrom followed by O'Brien, and then Luke Baillie.

"Pretty happy with the result! The event timing was tricky to have all the new equipment arrive in time, so I hadn't had a chance to try one single piece of gear before the event," explains Sean O'Brien.

"My new Starboard Formula 167 has some incredible speed and angle off the wind. It's a big jump in design from last year's boards and trims noticeably different on the water." uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.