Speed and jumps crowned at the 2014 Warsaw PWA Indoor Windsurfing World Cup

September 8, 2014 | Windsurfing
Ben Proffitt: spectacular forward loop | Photo: PWA/Carter

Ben Proffitt, Nicolas Akgazciyan and Thomas Traversa have claimed the top spots at the 2014 Warsaw PWA Indoor Windsurfing World Cup, in Poland.

Just like eight years ago, Nicolas Akgazciyan stole the freestyle show in an indoor windsurfing pool. The French sailor rotated through a trademark switch chachoo and a big shaka 360 to win his division. Sarah-Quita Offringa stomped a stylish one-handed spock and a super quick double flaka to conquer the Women's freestyle contest.

In the fast Slalom races, Ben Proffitt showed why he is also one of the best windsurfers in the world. In the Polish National Stadium, he took a brilliant 2-1 victory over Akgazciyan. Lena Erdil successfully defended her better seeding against Zofia Klepacka, with an emphatic 2-0 victory.

The Jump division delivered massive airs and wipeouts. Thomas Traversa opened with an incredible tweaked tabletop, before backing it up with a bolt upright forward, to defeat Ricardo Campello. Amanda Beenen won her final with a big forward loop.

Meanwhile, the Red Bull Speed Challenge crowned Taty Frans as the fastest man of the windsurfing pool, as he raced down the pool through two speed gates t 45.7km/h, that is almost 25 knots.

2014 Warsaw PWA Indoor Windsurfing World Cup | Final Results

Men's Slalom
1. Ben Proffitt
2. Nicolas Akgazciyan
3. Matteo Iachino
4. Andrea Rosati

Women's Slalom
1. Lena Erdil
2. Zofia Klepacka
3. Arrianne Aukes
4th Delphine Cousin

Men's Freestyle
1. Nicolas Akgazciyan
2. Taty Frans
3. Rafael de Windt
4. Max Matissek

Women's Freestyle
1. Sarah-Quita Offringa
2. Arrianne Aukes
3. Maaike Huvermann
4. Oda Johanne

Men's Jump
1. Thomas Traversa
2. Ricardo Campello
3. Antoine Martin
4th Jules Denel

Women's Jump
1. Amanda Beenen
2. Justyna Sniady
3. Arrianne Aukes
4. Lena Erdil