Steve Allen conquers the 2015 Downunder Pro

February 9, 2015 | Windsurfing
Steve Allen: a victory by a single point | Photo: Rob Plim

Steve Allen has claimed the 2015 Downunder Pro, at Lake Macquarie, Australia.

Over the three-day regatta, windsurfers completed seven races at picturesque Belmont. The Downunder Pro - Formula Windsurfing Oceanic & Australian Championships crowned Allen, ahead of Janis Preiss and defending champion Sean O'Brien.

"I'm really happy that I managed to win three of the seven races in such difficult conditions and with a strong fleet," stated Allen, who won the title by a single point.

"I want to say thank you to the organisers and sponsors for such great prizes, especially Brett Morris for his hospitality and the race officers for a great job on the water. For me, it was a great start for the coming new season, and I really hope I can make it back next year."

O'Brien fought his way back onto the podium beating Christian Justesen, after a countback when both sailors finished the event with equal points. Sean finished the final race in third, with Justesen fourth, which solidified the tie-break split.

Brett Morris won the Grand Masters division, finishing in fifth position overall, ahead of Tibor Ferenczy and Rick Murray, in eighth and ninth overall. Bruce Healey took out the Free-Formula division, winning five out of the seven races. uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.