Steve Allen wins 2014 Lancelin Ocean Classic

January 11, 2014 | Windsurfing
Steve Allen: windsurf marathoner

Steve Allen has successfully defended his Lancelin Ocean Classic title. The Australian won the 29th edition of the windsurfing marathon.

Despite a dramatic false start, Steve Allen has ended up smiling again, as he claimed his second consecutive Lancelin Ocean Classic trophy.

The Australian windsurfer completed the 25-kilometer race, from Ledge Point to Lancelin, in 29 minutes and 59 seconds, only 13 seconds ahead Isaac Devries, who finished runner-up.

"The start didn't have too much of an effect on me, it was the seaweed that slowed me down more than anything. I was just stoked to be the first back to the beach", says Allen.

"The conditions were tricky, especially at the start, almost all of us carried seaweed off the beach except for Isaac but I was able to reel him in".

The tight marathon saw Peter Volwater completing the podium, with a total time of 30 minutes and 41 seconds. A total of 118 sailors participated in the Lancelin Ocean Classic.

In the Wave division, Philip Köster took the top honors.

2014 Lancelin Ocean Classic Marathon | Results

1. Steve Allen
2. Isaac Devries
3. Peter Volwater
4. Jesper Orth
5. Björn Dunkerbeck
6. Daniel Engdahl
7. Luke Matthews
8. Leo Sharpe
9. Jonah Desforges
10. Ben Proffitt