Steven Van Broeckhoven is the 2013 European Freestyle Pro Tour champion

October 30, 2013 | Windsurfing
Steven Van Broeckhoven: the magician at work

Steven Van Broeckhoven is the new 2013 European Freestyle Pro Tour (EFPT) champion.

The Belgian windsurfer takes the third EFPT title of his career, leaving Van der Eyken and Adrian Beholz in second and third places, respectively.

"I am really happy to be up here again. In 2009, I won the title for the first year and that was when it all started for m. Also, now it's not easy to win the European title, as Dieter and the other guys are not easy to beat, so I am super stoked that I won it again this year", says Van Broeckhoven.

The last event of the 2013 season was run in Six Fours les Plages, France. Despite the lack of wind in the final day, the organization called for a tow-in best trick competition.

With the wake of the police boat tricks like paskos, big air-funnels, skopus and even forwards were possible. The trophy for the best trick in the tow-in supersession went to the Adam Sims.

He surprised many with a perfectly-timed funnel into air-funnel, off the wave, launching into the first funnel before the wake of the boat and then bouncing off the wake into a huge air funnel, which technically scored high.

2013 European Freestyle Pro Tour (EFPT) | Final Rankings

1. Steven Van Broeckhoven (JP/Neilpryde)
2. Dieter Van der Eyken (Severne/Starboard)
3. Adrian Beholz (Sailloft/Fanatic)
4. Phil Soltysiak (Starboard)
5. Max Rowe (Fanatic/North Sails) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.