Strong winds blow over the 2011 Dakine Classic

June 28, 2011 | Windsurfing
2011 Dakine Classic: claiming victory

The 2011 Dakine Classic was a great success. The second stop of the 2011 Maui Race Series enjoyed strong winds in the 25–30/mph range. There were nine divisions competing in this windsurfing contest.

The Kanaha Beach Park is a great spot for wind riders and the Maui Race Series won't finish the 27 years of history with these weather conditions.

In the Pro category, Peter Slate got the best out of the nice trade winds available, followed by Phil McGain and Dan Ellis. McGain also took the Men’s 40-49 division.

Mike Yasak won in the Men's 50-59, Szabolcs Maguranyi kept the Men's 60 & Over title, Deniz Bicakci conquered the Junior trophy and Matt Daniells the Semi-Pro division.

In the Expert category, David Dowhan was the best windsurfer, while Tamara Bockius won the Women’s Open division with precision jibing and blazing starts.


Peter Slate
Phil McGain
Dan Ellis
Peter John
Mark Boersma

Mens 19-39

Peter John
Dan Ellis
Mark Boersma
Drew Farrior
Neil Turpin

Womens Open

Tamara Bockius
Argentina Jimenez Bonilla
Paulina Pease
Kristen Orth uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.