The Kendall Cup crowns best windsurfers

May 31, 2011 | Windsurfing
Barbara Kendall: Kiwi pride

The Kendall Cup is a new regatta series designed to promote the youth windsurfing class (Bic Techno 293) in New Zealand.

Launched by Barbara Kendall last August, the 2010-2011 season series was held over seven regattas in Auckland and Tauranga from the Winter Champs in October to the Super City Regatta in April.

A small but committed fleet of up to 12 young windsurfers competed in each event with one regatta discard allowed for the final points tally.

Hamish Dunning Beck, (Wakatere) won the Under17 Boys division, Stephanie Corkery (Murrays Bay) Under17 Girls and Finn Croft (Manly) Under15 Boys. A special prize for most improved over the season went to Alex Hart from Tauranga Yacht Club.

All prizes were generously donated by Watersports South Pacific and trophies donated by Barbara Kendall.

The format will be similar for next season but with six regattas in the series and one discard for results. With five new Techno sailors now at Wakatere Boating Club and a further six learners beginning to windsurf with Mad Loop Windsurfing School we hope to see a fleet of 12 to 15 Technos sailing regularly next season at regattas.

As a further step in developing the sport here in New Zealand there are seven Techno sailors heading to San Francisco in July this year to compete at the Techno World Championships.

The sailors will be accompanied by coach, Kate Ellingham who will provide invaluable assistance at their first world championship. It is also hoped that a development team will travel to New Caledonia again in December to compete at the New Caledonian nationals.

Last year, Barbara Kendall lamented the fact that there were no NZ Techno sailors eligible to compete at the Youth Olympics in Singapore.

The ongoing growth of the fleet and development of their skills through coaching here and competing overseas will go a long way to NZ fielding competitive Techno sailors for the next Youth Olympics in 2013 as well as future World Championships.

Source: Windsurfing New Zealand