The qualified RS:X windsurfers for Rio 2016

July 27, 2016 | Windsurfing
João Rodrigues: the Portuguese will be making his 7th appearance in the Olympic Games | Photo: World Sailing

The final list of qualified RS:X sailors for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games features 36 male athletes and 26 female competitors.

The RS:X windsurfing event will kick off on the 8th August on the Pão de Açúcar race course. The man to beat is Dorian van Rijsselberge, who will defend his gold medal from London 2012. On the women's side, Marina Alabau will also try to revalidate her Olympic dream.

World Sailing decided to confirm the participation of two Russian sailors - Stefania Elfutina and Maksim Oberemko - following Richard McLaren's investigation report.

Meanwhile, Portuguese veteran João Rodrigues will be making his seventh Olympic appearance. He will also carry his nation's flag at the opening ceremony in Rio de Janeiro.

"It was with great joy that I received the invitation to be the flagbearer of the Portuguese Olympic team for what is the biggest sporting event on the planet," said Rodrigues.

"Over the last 28 years, I lived intensely six editions of the Olympic Games. This is one of the most beautiful moments in my sports career!"

The Rio 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition will feature 380 athletes from 66 nations competing in ten events. The contest format for all sailing classes is fleet racing.

Rio 2016 Olympic Games | The RS:X Fleet

Men's RS:X Fleet

1. Pierre Le Coq (FRA)
2. Piotr Myszka (POL)
3. Byron Kokkalanis (GRE)
4. Nick Dempsey (GBR)
5. Dorian Van Rijsselberge (NED)
6. Shahar Zubari (ISR)
7. Toni Wilhelm (GER)
8. Ivan Pastor Lafuente (ESP)
9. (CHN)
10. Andreas Cariolou (CYP)
11. Sebastian Fleischer (DEN)
12. Bautista Saubidet Birkner (ARG)
13. Juozas Bernotas (LTU)
14. Mattia Camboni (ITA)
15. Max Oberemko (RUS)
16. Makoto Tomizawa (JPN)
17. Sebastian Wang-Hansen (NOR)
18. Mateo Sanz Lanz (SUI)
19. Tae Hoon Lee (KOR)
20. Aron Gadorfalvi (HUN)
21. Cheng Chun Leung (HKG)
22. Joao Rodrigues (POR)
23. David Mier y Teran (MEX)
24. Hamza Bouras (ALG)
25. Jean-Marc Gardette (SEY)
26. Natthaphong Phonoppharat (THA)
27. Leonard Ong (SIN)
28. Oleksandr Tugaryev (UKR)
29. Luka Mratovic (CRO)
30. Mikita Tsirkun (BLR)
31. Pedro Pascual (USA)
32. Daniel Flores (VEN)
33. Santiago Grillo (COL)
34. Ricardo Santos (BRA)
35. Hao Chang (TPE)
36. Onur Cavit Biriz (TUR)

Women's RS:X Fleet

1. Charline Picon (FRA)
2. Maayan Davidovich (ISR)
3. Marina Alabau Neira (ESP)
4. Bryony Shaw (GBR)
5. (CHN)
6. Flavia Tartaglini (ITA)
7. Lilian De Geus (NED)
8. Malgorzata Bialecka (POL)
9. Tuuli Petäjä-Siren (FIN)
10. Stefania Elfutina (RUS)
11. Ingrid Puusta (EST)
12. Demita Vega de Lille (MEX)
13. Sonia Lo (HKG)
14. Megumi Iseda (JPN)
15. Maria Aadland Mollestad (NOR)
16. Laerke Buhl-Hansen (DEN)
17. Angeliki Skarlatou (GRE)
18. Katia Belabbas (ALG)
19. Siripon Kaewduang-Ngam (THA)
20. Marion Lepert (USA)
21. Sara Cholnoky (HUN)
22. Maria Tejerina (ARG)
23. Patricia Freitas (BRA)
24. Ketija Birzule (LAT)
25. Audrey Yong (SIN)
26. Dilara Urlap (TUR) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.