Van Broeckhoven crowned 2016 EFPT champion

October 17, 2016 | Windsurfing
Steven Van Broeckhoven: fifth EFPT title in seven years | Photo: EFPT

Steven Van Broeckhoven and Sarah Quita-Offringa have been crowned the 2016 European Freestyle Pro Tour (EFPT) champions, in Brouwersdam, Netherlands.

In the last event of the European season, Van Broeckhoven was too strong for his opponents. The Belgian windsurfer won the Dam-X and collected his fifth EFPT title (2009, 2010, 2013, 2014, and 2016).

"I'm super stoked winning the last event of the year at my home spot, and my fifth European title! It has been a crazy season, with ups and downs, but I managed to win all the EFPT events. My goal for next year is to get the positive vibes in the PWA events and no more brakes!" expressed Van Broeckhoven.

In the women's competition, Quita-Offringa confirmed her superiority in the freestyle windsurfing field. The sailor from Aruba won her second consecutive EFPT title.

"Brouwersdam: Check! Thank you Dam-X and EFPT for a great week in Zeeland. It was a real blast! Congrats Arrianne Aukes and Maaike Huvermann for second and third. Let's keep raising the bar!" added Offringa.

Johnny Yagen, an 18-year-old windsurfer from Israel, finished 15th place overall and was named EFPT Rookie of the Year 2016. In the Tow-In discipline, Davy Scheffers grabbed the rope and raised the overall trophy.

"It's great to take part in the event at the spot where I learned windsurfing and most of my moves in the last 13 years!" added Scheffers, who declared himself surprised with the win.

2016 European Freestyle Pro Tour | Top 3

Freestyle Men
1. Steven Van Broeckhoven (BEL)
2. Adrien Bosson (FRA)
3. Jacopo Testa (ITA)

Freestyle Women
1. Sarah Quita-Offringa (ARU)
2. Arrianne Aukes (NED)
3. Maaike Huvermann (NED)

1. Davy Scheffers (NED)
2. Antoine Albert (CAL)
3. Adam Sims (GBR)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2020 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.