Van der Eyken shines in the 2015 Fuerteventura PWA World Cup

August 3, 2015 | Windsurfing
Dieter Van der Eyken: the best performance of his career | Photo: Carter/PWA

Dieter Van der Eyken, Sarah-Quita Offringa, and Antoine Albeau have dominated the Freestyle and Slalom competitions at the 2015 Fuerteventura PWA World Cup, in the Canary Islands.

The 30th anniversary of the iconic windsurfing event produced nine fabulous days of wind and tight clashes. Tributes to Peter Volwater, a new world champion and a maiden event victory in the PWA World Tour. The contest had it all.

In the Freestyle game, Van der Eyken delivered the best performance of his career by landing perfect spock into culos, monster air skopus and kabikuchis. Kiri Thode and Nico Akgazciyan had to settle for second and third.

"What a day, what an event. So stoked to win my first event ever on the PWA World Tour after a tough fight in the second double elimination against Kiri Thode and Amado Vrieswijk, who both sailed really good as well!" expressed Dieter Van der Eyken.

Offringa has done it again. The undisputed Queen of Freestyle won every single heat by combining smooth sliding moves with the latest power moves and exploding through perfect burners and culos. The Aruban windsurfer is celebrating her eighth consecutive world title.

In the Slalom division, Albeau won three out of the eight eliminations completed, whilst qualifying for all but one winners' final. The French sent out a clear warning sign that he's going to be incredibly hard to beat over the remainder of the season.

"Fuerte for me is one of the best places for windsurfing. It's a real pleasure to come back and every time it's another big battle with the guys, so I'm super happy to have managed to win here again. Well done to both Matteo and Ross for fighting back onto the podium yesterday. I hope to be back next year," said Antoine Albeau.

Fuerteventura PWA Grand Slam | Freestyle Results

1. Dieter Van der Eyken (Starboard / Severne)
2. Kiri Thode (Starboard / GA Sails)
3. Nico Akgazciyan (99NoveNove / Point-7 / Maui Ultra Fins)
4. Amado Vrieswijk (JP / Severne)
5. Tonky Frans (Tabou / GA Sails)

1. Sarah-Quita Offringa (Starboard / Neilpryde / Mystic / Maui Ultra Fins)
2. Oda Johanne (Starboard / Severne / Maui Ultra Fins)
3. Maaike Huvermann (Starboard / Severne / Maui Ultra Fins)
4. Yoli de Brendt (Fanatic / North)
5. Arrianne Aukes (RRD / Simmer / Maui Ultra Fins)

Fuerteventura PWA Grand Slam | Slalom Results

1. Antoine Albeau (RRD / NeilPryde)
2. Matteo Iachino (Fanatic / North)
3. Ross Williams (Tabou / GA Sails)
4. Pierre Mortefon (Fanatic / North)
5. Ben Van der Steen (Tabou / GA Sails) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.