Victor Fernandez is the world's best wave windsurfer

November 23, 2010 | Windsurfing

Victor Fernandez: the Alonso of windsurfing

Victor Fernandez is the 2010 PWA Wave Tour champion. The Spanish windsurfer led the ranking during the whole season, winning the PWA Pozo Grand Prix, in July, for the fourth time in a row and also finished second at the KIA World Cup in Denmark after a spectacular showdown.

“I’m super, super happy. I’ve put in a lot of work since my debut on the PWA World Tour and a tremendous amount this year", Fernandez said.

The 2010 PWA Wave Tour has been concluded in Cabo Verde, despite the absence of decent wind conditions. The organizers decided to call off the competition.

In second place is three times former freestyle world champion, Ricardo Campello. "Before the event I felt that I could challenge for the number one spot, but the conditions didn’t allow that. My goal this year was to finish in the top three, which I’ve achieved", told Campello.

In the final podium position is the 2009 Pozo wave champion and teenage sensation, Philip Koster. “I just can’t believe it, it’s a dream come true. I’m really, really happy, especially after my bad luck last year in Sylt which put me down to 28th", said Koster.

Official 2010 PWA Wave Rankings

1st Victor Fernandez (Fanatic, North, MFC)
2nd Ricardo Campello (JP, NeilPryde, MFC)
3rd Philip Koster (Starboard, NeilPryde, Dakine)
4th Kauli Seadi (JP, NeilPryde, MFC)
5th Dany Bruch (Patrik, Severne, MFC, AL360)
6th Robby Swift (JP, NeilPryde)
7th = Klaas Voget (Fanatic, Simmer, MFC)
7th = Alex Mussolini (Tabou, Gaastra)
9th Jonas Ceballos (Mistral, Simmer)
10th Dario Ojeda (Tabou, Simmer, Dakine, MFC)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: