Victor Wederfoort and Bjorn Saragoza win the 2010 Curacao Challenge

April 7, 2010 | Windsurfing

2010 Curacao Challenge: freestylers of the Caribbean

After 5 days of competition, months of preparation by the organization and the volunteers, the 2010 edition of the Curacao Challenge is over. We had some tough weather conditions making for some tough decisions throughout the week. But one thought remains on everybody’s minds: it was great.

The event proved again successful with hundreds of spectators on the beaches, thousands worldwide on the Internet, a hundred competitors from all over the world, local & international press and excited sponsors.

The results are in and we had some surprises, but also some expected winners in the different categories.

Results Slalom Competition

Open Class
1. Victor Wederfoort (Curacao)
2. Perry van der Wolde (Curacao)
3. Ingmar Schnitzler (Curacao)

Sports Class
1. Ed de Groot (Curacao)
2. Hendryck Balentien (Bonaire)
3. Antonia (Dominican Republic)

Under 18
1. Amado Vrieswijk (Bonaire)
2. Jean Patrick van der Wolde (Curacao)
3. Dylan Robles (Bonaire)

Under 14
1. Jurgen Saragoza (Bonaire)
2. Mathias Verploeg (Aruba)
3. Steven Max (Aruba)

1. Monique Meijer (Bonaire)
2. Nicole van der Velden (Aruba)
3. Eline Marchena (Aruba)

Download Full Results

Results Freestyle Competition

1. Bjorn Saragoza (Bonaire)
2. Hendryck Balentien (Bonaire)
3. Youp Schmit (Bonaire)

Under 18
1. Youp Schmit (Bonaire)
2. Felix Martina (Curacao)
3. Amado Vrieswijk (Bonaire)

Under 14
1. Ethan Westera (Aruba)
2. Kaj van der Lubbe (Curacao)
3. Steven Max (Aruba)

1. Xenia Kessler (Denmark)
2. Hilde Tuinbeek (Curacao)
3. Arrianne Aukes (Netherlands)

Results Rookie Competition
1. Andre
2. Sasoni
3. Maya

1. Jean Paul
2. Oscar
3. Delano

1. Indigo
2. Sven
3. Jules

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019