Windsurfing world prepares yearly awards

June 11, 2012 | Windsurfing
Bjorn Dunkerbeck: preparing to claim several windsurfing awards

The Professional Windsurfers Association (PWA) has announced the launch of the Islas Canarias PWA Windsurfing Excellence Awards. The new contest will run every year, with the winner of each category being announced in February of the following year.

The world windsurfing awards will consist of a variety of categories, which are: "Biggest Wave of the Year", "Jump of the Year", "Best Single Wave Riding Move of the Year", "Freestyle Move of the Year", "Wipe Out of the Year" and the "Racing Move of the Year".

There will also be a completely separate set of awards for "PWA Sailor of the Year", an "Honorary Award", Photographer of the Year", "Short Film of the Year" and last but not least an award for "Outstanding Achievement in Windsurfing Cinematography".

The Islas Canarias PWA Windsurfing Excellence Awards are open to everyone, so whether you are a full-time pro or a weekend warrior, you now have the opportunity to pit yourself against the best in the world.

The Spanish Canaries are a beautiful and special place with stunning scenery, beautiful beaches and wall-to-wall sunshine. Furthermore the wide range of conditions on offer year round, mean that whether you are a radical wave head or a family looking for a tranquil retreat, these islands possess the magic to far surpass your dreams.

All entries, as well as images and video, should be submitted in the PWA official website.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: