Windy races crown champions at the 2015 Kona Worlds

September 7, 2015 | Windsurfing
Kona World Championship 2015: windy races at Brouwersdam | Photo: Kona

Björn Holm and Isis Hoekstra have emerged victorious at the Kona World Championship 2015, held in Brouwersdam, Netherlands.

The Swedish windsurfer secured his third title after winning four out of 12 races. Holm, traveling all the way from Stockholm, is an experienced sailor who represented his country at the 1984 Olympic Games.

"I am very happy. This is my third world champion title and by far the toughest to conquer, with the highest level of competition. I have to admit that the final result would have been different with one more day of high winds," admits Björn Holm.

Interestingly, runner-up Sil Hoekstra took six bullets, but he showed inconsistency across the remaining races. A fatal OCS cost him the world title.

A total of 58 sailors competed during the four days of racing. The entire competition got underway in demanding conditions - three out of four days had high winds of between 22 to 28 knots.

In the Women's division, it was a local windsurfer who celebrated the world title. Isis Hoekstra was the fastest Kona athlete and finished seventh in the overall rankings.

Kona World Championship 2015 | Top 5

1. Björn Holm
2. Sil Hoekstra
3. Jonas Davidson Vitell
4. Fred Hastman
5. Paul Meester

1. Isis Hoekstra
2. Andrea Holm
3. Ebba Einarsson
4. Ellie Nåbo
5. Rianne Noorlander uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.