Ben Proffitt: fired up

The 2010 BWA UK Wave Tour has once again delivered with many top places going down to the wire at in the final round in some of the most spectacular and challenging conditions seen at Gwithian, Cornwall.

Spurred by his fantastic PWA results, Ben Proffitt (Simmer) finally took the crown he has worked so hard for with consistent wins in Ireland and Scotland. Chris Murray and George Shillito (Tushingham, Starboard) delivered consistent performances to take well deserved 2nd and 3rd respectively. Further stars to watch in 2011 will undoubtedly be Sam Neal (JP, Neil Pryde) and Richard Jones (Fanatic, North).

The big question... after a giant-slaying 2010, will Andy 'Bubble' Chambers (JP, Neil Pryde) hang up his freestyle hat and cause more upset to the pros in 2011? Of course the fleet result was upset by the non-attendance of other stars such as Phil Horrocks (JP), John Skye (RRD, RRD), Timo Mullen (Starboard), and James Cox (Ezzy) who missed events and then lost valuable points in a savage and uncompromising 3-event tour which gave no charitable discards.

2010 Pro Champion: Ben Proffitt (Simmer, Funsport)
Vice Champion: Chris Murray (Tushingham, Starboard)
3rd: George Shillito (Tushingham, Starboard)


There was a real Anglo/Scot battle in the amateurs as Adam Sims and Scott McDowell raged war in their respective countries. But with Sims pulling an epic performance out of the bag in Gwithian, Scotty finally fell to his dagger. Ian Gibson gave a die-hard performance to come a close 3rd next to new kid on the competition block, Jim Brookes-Dowsett in fourth.

With the new rules sending the top two amateurs into the Pro fleet in 2010 it will be exciting to see how Adam and Scott progress and upset the pros fleet!

2010 Amateur Champion: Adam Sims
Vice Champion: Scott McDowell
3rd: Ian Gibson


2010 saw some very welcome new faces for this fleet with a standout performance from Debbie Kennedy who took 1st place in both Tiree and Cornwall to secure a Champions title. Close on her heals and one to watch for 2011 is Jody Ward who put in consistent performances in her first year of wave competition to take the Vice Champion place.

Katie McAnena took 3rd overall despite only making one event. Busy studying to become a doctor she has assured us that she will return in 2011 to contend for the crown.

2010 Women’s Champion: Debbie Kennedy
Vice Champion: Jody Ward
3rd: Katie McAnena (RRD)


You think the pros are competitive...think again! The Masters fleet was a ferocious battle between RAF sailors and our old favourite Big Davey. Despite taking a win in Gwithian with an epic mast high wave performance, Big Davey had to settle for 2nd as RAF's own Craig Hamilton took the 2010 crown. Big Davey commented, "It is so hard to find the will to beat the RAF guys as they are far too nice. It was much easier when I could scrap with Nigel [Treacy] on the wave!"

The other 'nice guy', Russ Jenkins took 3rd overall place to show the UK that when it comes to competition, the RAF does the job well.

2010 Masters Champion: Craig Hamilton (RAF)
Vice Champion: Big Davey Edmiston
3rd: Russ Jenkins


2010 saw the return of Aleksy Gayda. Aleksy put in a performance most pros would be proud of securing 1st place in Cornwall and overall 2010 Youth Champion, a great birthday present. Newcomers and ones to watch for 2011; Rhosneigr local Liam Ellis and George Bolwell took 2nd and 3rd overall.

2010 Youth Champion: Aleksy Gayda
Vice Champion: Liam Ellis
3rd: George Bolwell

The 2010 competition season is not yet over, as we have the inaugural Welsh Wave Sailing Amateur Champs ready to be held on the first windy weekend in November at Broadhaven. Sponsored by Pura Vida and Funsport and hosted by HavenSports, this event will see ‘amateur’ sailors battle in the Welsh waves with the Pros showing up to ‘show off’ their sponsors latest kit and their talents on the water!

And of course the BWA Team are already working on the 2011 season. We hope to release event dates before Christmas so in the meantime, enjoy the autumn winds!

Manguinhos: perfect for windsurfing

The third edition of the Buzios International Regatta (BIR) will be hosted by the Buzios Vela Clube, in Armacao de Buzios, Brasil, from the 5th to 12th February 2011.

This multi-windsurfing class regatta will host the IFCA South American Slalom Championships as the pinnacle event of the program.

The BIR will also include the Brazilian National Championships, in 4 classes (RS:X, Formula, Raceboard, and Techno293), an open event for the Formula Experience class and the 'King of Buzios' Grand Prix (long distance race).

This unique event includes all three formats of the racing discipline - course racing, slalom and marathon.

Manguinhos is just the perfect beach for windsurfing. Its waters are calm, warm and clean, without waves at the shore, without ditches or currents, without rocks or forests over its 5 km of extension. An eastern wind parallel to the beach, which curves to become perpendicular to the wind and calmly embrace you if you need it.

Manguinhos is a type of lagoon in the sea and that's why it is the place chosen by the best windsurfers in Brazil, Spain, New Zealand, Argentina, Mexico and Venezuela for the regular practices of their Olympic teams.

Gabriel Browne: wonder boy

Gabriel "Biel" Browne (BRA 50) finished his great year in style by taking the first place of the 2010 Wind Brasil Fortaleza Formula Windsurfing Grand Prix.

The event - now a regular feature on the international racing calendar - was organised by Arrow Marketing and the Brazilian Windsurfing Association and took place just off the beach, in front of the Marina Park Hotel, in Fortaleza, the capital of Ceara State.

Browne added the event title to that of 2010 Brazilian Formula Champion and 2010 Youth World Champion.

Joining him on the podium in Fortaleza was fellow Brazilian Paulo Dos Reis and Steve Allen, from Australia.

1st - Gabriel Browne (BRA 50), also first youth
2nd - Paulo Dos Reis (BRA 3333)
3rd - Steve Allen (AUS 0), also first Master
4th - Wilhelm Schurmann (BRA 999), also first "light" man
5th - Miguel Martinho (POR 5)
13th - Monica Veras (BRA 878), and first woman

Are you a surfer who can't live without music? Have you ever wanted to know how to play surf music on an electric guitar? Now you can. There's a new, straightforward online course waiting for your fingers.

+ Surfing News