National Windsurfing Week are proud to announce the first UK Premiere in a British cinema of The Windsurfing Movie. “The Windsurfing Movie” at The Prince Charles Cinema near Leicester Square in London, on the evening of Tuesday 29th April.

This will be the first, and probably only, opportunity to see what many feel to be the best film ever made about windsurfing on a big screen. Tickets for the showing are £10 each, and can be booked in advance by calling the box office on 0870 811 2559, or purchased on the door subject to availability. All profits will be donated to the RNLI. Doors open at 6.00pm with the film being shown at 6.45pm.

The Windsurfing Movie is poised to be windsurfing’s defining film. Directed by award winning cinematographer Johnny DeCesare of Poor Boyz Productions and featuring the best riders in windsurfing history—The Windsurfing Movie conveys the beauty of Windsurfing in brilliant 16mm film.

Read more ...

Fanatic is proud to announce that 18 year old German newcomer Leon Jamaer just joined the Fanatic team Germany.

"I was sailing with Leon this winter in Cape Town and was really impressed with his level, even in the bigger conditions he has a real go-for-it attitude.

Leon has the potential to be the next “Klaas Voget” in German wavesailing, so Fanatic is proud to support him and looking forward to a successful future together", says Craig Gertenbach, Fanatic Brand Manager.

"I´m really happy to be part of the Fanatic team. The NewWave 69 is the perfect board to enjoy the first spring storms", says Leon Jamaer.

Source: Fanatic

The World Sailing Speed Record Council has ratified the Outright World Speed Record of 49.09 knots set by Antoine Albeau of France.

Antoine Albeau set the new outright world speed record mark on the purpose built canal in Les Saintes Maries de la Mer, France.

The Record:

Record: Outright World Speed Record
Venue: Les Saintes Maries de la Mer. France
Name: Antoine ALBEAU (FRA)
Equipment: Custom Starboard. 4.8 Neil Pryde
Date: 5 March 2008
Course length: 500 metres
Current: Nil
Start time: 12:12:36.53
Finish time: 12:12:56.33
Elapsed time: 19.80 seconds
Speed: 49.09 knots

Previous Record:

Record: Outright World Speed Record
Venue: Les Saintes Maries de la Mer. France
Name: Finian MAYNARD (IVB)
Date: April 2005
Course length: 500 metres
Speed: 48.70 knots

Source: ISAF

A German company specialized in designing and build wake park features announced the creation of the world's first floating outdoor surf pool.

+ Surfing News

Although a very young water sport, windsurfing has seen the birth, birth, and rebirth of several sailboard-oriented magazines.

+ Windsurfing News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News