Airton Cozzolino wins inaugural KSP Mauritius One Eye Pro

September 29, 2011 | Kiteboarding
KSP Mauritius One Eye Pro: eagle eye view

Kicking off the 2011 KSP Kite Surfing World Tour, the Mauritius One Eye Pro brought the world’s best kite surfers together at the infamous One Eye reef break, a world-class venue in Le Morne, Mauritius.

Coming from 15 different countries, 36 competitors - 24 men and 12 women - competed together to vie for the first of three coveted 2011 KSP titles, and ultimately, work their way towards the esteemed Kite Surfing World Championship title. Streamed live online, the event also featured live scoring.

With a window of 10 days (September 23 to October 2) for the 48-heat competition, contest directors kept a close eye on the wind and surf forecasts in order to run the Mauritius One Eye Pro in the best possible conditions.

Amidst perfect conditions the five-person panel of ISA-accredited (International Surfing Association) judges determined which riders advanced through the elimination ladder.

Judged on a scale of .1 to 10 for up to 15 waves per heat, competitor’s scores were determined by combining his or her two best wave scores, for a possible 20 points.

Four days of competition boiled the field down to the final eight riders, where ultimately, Jesse Richman (Hawaii, USA) faced Mauricio Pedreria (Brazil) for third place, and the relatively unknown Airton Cozzolino (Italy) faced 2008 Kite Surfing World Champion Mitu Monteiro (Cape Verde) for first place.

Pedreira beat out Richman in a contentious matchup, while the 17-year-old Cozzolino bested Monteiro by an incredibly close margin of .63 points.

On the women’s front, nine-time World Champion Kristin Boese (Germany) squared off with Steph Bridge (United Kingdom) for third place and Marie Gautron (France) competed against local Wild Card Winner Ninja Bichler (Germany/Mauritian Resident) for the title.

Steph Bridge managed to win against Kristin Boese and take third place while Wild Card Winner Bichler turned heads by making it all the way to the finals and concluding her first ever pro-level contest with a remarkable fairytale ending.

The next KSP Kite Surfing World Tour stop - the Pacasmayo Kite Surf Pro - will take place in Pacasmayo, Peru from October 19 to 28. Then, the pinnacle of the KSP World Tour - Ponta Preta Kite Surf Pro - will run from December 2 to 11 in Ponta Preta, Cape Verde, where the men and women’s 2011 Kite Surfing World Champions will be crowned.

Results - 2011 KSP Mauritius One Eye Pro | Results

1st place: Airton Cozzolino (Italy)
2nd place: Mitu Monteiro (Cabo Verde)
3rd place: Mauricio Pedreira (Brazil)
4th place: Jesse Richman (Hawaii, USA)
5th place: Sky Solbach (USA)
5th place: Bruno Bordowsky (Brazil)
5th place: Juan Pablo Diban (Chile)
5th place: Patri McLaughlin (Hawaii, USA)

1st place: Ninja Bichler (Mauritius)
2nd place: Marie Gautron (France)
3rd place: Steph Bridge (United Kingdom)
4th place: Kristin Boese (Germany)
5th place: Suzanne Kuiper (Netherlands)
5th place: Ines Correia (Portugal)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2021 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers