Exciting finish at the O'Neill Kiteboard World Cup 2012

May 21, 2012 | Kiteboarding
Julien Kerneur: explaining the meaning of speeding up

Winners have been crowned at the O'Neill Kiteboard World Cup 2012, with winds blowing at 15-17 knots from the NNE direction, in the final day of competition. There were Freestyle and Race titles to deliver at The Hague, Holland.

Kevin Langeree and Ewan Jaspan took center stage in front of the judges, throwing down the best maneuvers and most impressive tricks they could showcase.

Liam Whaley showed an impressive Front Mobe, Carlos Madson finished a nice S-7, while Sholte, a hometown favorite, put up just as much of a fight with a quality Blind Judge, among other well placed moves. Manuela Jungo shined as well during her heat against Judith Roetman, throwing down a notable S-Bend and Blind Judge 5.

As winds continued to hold, Sebastian Garat and Alex Soto advanced in the early heats. Soto advanced in his face-off against Sam Light. By heat #41, winds began to decrease as Garat and Marc Jacobs tried their hardest to perform in the heavy current and light wind.

Interestingly, the highest score of the day went to Kevin Langeree for a Late Back Mobe, earning the total highest score in his first heat of 44.57. Unfortunately, the winds never increased enough to allow for further freestyle heats.

The wind, was however, good enough for racing. In the seventh race, Kerneur and Lake initially took noticeably different lines from the rest, while the others held similar paths. Pushing forward in the first minutes were Koch, Leccese, Lake, and Dansin.

The rest of the fleet flowed with the pack, making both slight movements and major line changes throughout the duration. The last moments of the race proved to be incredibly eventful, as Koch rounded his mark first - Lake close behind.

Leccese, on the other hand, found his kite in the water after trying to gain speed, which caused him to fall back significantly, allowing Kerneur and Dansin to edge up in the rankings. The final results of this race were Koch, Lake, and Kerneur in the first three positions.

Men Freestyle
1. Alex Pastor
2. Alberto Rondina
3. Youri Zoon

Women Freestyle
1. Bruna Kajiya
2. Gisela Pulido
3. Karolina Winkowska

Men Race
1. Adam Koch
2. Bryan Lake
3. Riccardo Leccese

Women Race
1. Katja Roose
2. Nuria Goma
3. Jessica Sickinger