Riccardo Leccese and Steph Bridge are the 2012 European Course Racing champions

October 1, 2012 | Kiteboarding
La Baule: European course racers speed up to the finish line

Riccardo Leccese and Steph Bridge have been crowned the 2012 European Course Racing champions.

The US rider Adam Koch won the Open Europeans, with Leccese in second and Julien Kerneur in third. Bridge was on top of her game this week with Caroline Adrien and Katja Roose close behind.

Conditions proved to be difficult during the four days of competition, with highly varying and shifting winds that allowed races only to be held during the first two days.

On the first day of competition, 12 races in total (four for each of the three groups) were run, with the men's fleet being re-seeded for the second day of group races.

Sailing took place in perfect conditions with around 12 knots, with lots of seaweed providing the biggest challenge for competitors.

Day two started of with a 7-8 knots of shifting winds which gave the race committee a hard time causing many postponements to adjust the course to the new wind directions. In the end, only one race per fleet could be completed for a total of five races per fleet.

Day three started off with light offshore winds, fighting against the thermal onshore seabreeze. The result was winds heavily shifting around all day, with every cloud coming through providing a different wind direction.

Despite the tricky conditions, the race committee tried to adjust courses all day long, without finding a gap with constant conditions long enough to get a race off.

Racers were on the water all day training, but competition was called off then around 1700 without any official result for the day. The final day of competition welcomed event officials and sailors with glassy water and no chance to get any more racing underway.

Overall Results Men After 5 Races (1 discard)

1. Adam Koch (USA, Mikes Lab/Ozone)
2. Riccardo Leccese (ITA, Mikes Lab/Ozone)
3. Julien Kerneur (FRA, RRD)
4. Bryan Lake (USA, Mikes Lab/Cabrinha)
5. Florian Gruber (GER, North)

Overall Results Women After 5 Races (1 discard)

1. Steph Bridge (GBR, North)
2. Caroline Adrien (FRA; Aguera/Cabrinha)
3. Katja Roose (NED, Airush)
4. Michalina Laskowska (POL, Ozone)
5. Christine Boenniger (GER, Flysurfer)