Taj Burrow: stoked to be back to competitive surfing | Photo: Bennett/WSL

Former Championship Tour (CT) campaigner Taj Burrow has taken out his second consecutive 2017 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy.

The Australian veteran, who had already won the twin-fin division, concluded his performance in the pumping right-hand reef of Sultans with a win over free surfer Rob Machado in the thruster final.

"I would have retired earlier if I knew this is what life would be like. I'm so stoked I got to come back here after a win last year. The waves were cooking for this whole event," said Burrow.

"Everyone in this event surfs so amazingly I really had to surf out of my skin to win this thing. If I do get to come back next year, I'll be over the moon. It's definitely one of the sickest events on the planet."

Rob Machado finished runner-up in the specialty event sanctioned by the World Surf League, but he can say he won the iconic single-fin division and was the only surfer to participate in all three finals.

"I was stoked to share the final with another goofy-footer, it was actually pretty unbelievable that it ended up like that. I shaped a new board for this event, which was easy as I knew what kind of wave we'd be surfing," added Machado.

2017 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy | Finals

Thruster Division
1. Taj Burrow (AUS) 16.73
2. Rob Machado (USA) 14.93

Twin-Fin Division
1. Taj Burrow (AUS) 16.67
2. Rob Machado (USA) 14.80

Single Fin Division
1. Rob Machado (USA) 15.67
2. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.33

Rob Bain, Layne Beachley, and Dave Macaulay have taken out the Azores Airlines World Masters Championship in the Grand Masters, Women's Masters and Men's Masters divisions held in good three-foot surf at Praia de Santa Barbara.

+ Surfing News

Dimitri Maramenides, the founder and owner of Epic Kites, rode his kite a few hours before Hurricane Florence hit the East Coast of the United States.

+ Kiteboarding News