Cory Lopez enters the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame

January 7, 2016 | Surfing
Cory Lopez: barreled at Teahupoo | Photo: Tom Servais

Floridian surfing legend Cory Lopez is the new name written on the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame. The goofy-footer from Dunedin is one of the most traveled free surfers on the planet.

"Lopey" has a long and successful career. He is one of the three famous contemporary Floridian surfers who made it to the Championship Tour. Despite never having won the world title, Cory Lopez conquered several top events.

The 38-year-old surfer won the Billabong Pro Tahiti (2001), the US Open of Surfing (2003), the Globe SI Pro (2005), the gold medal at the ISA World Surfing Games (2010), and three gold medals at the X Games.

"I'm really honored to be joining the East Coast Hall of Fame. To be recognized amongst my peers as one of the best is pretty cool," expressed Lopez, who was one of the first surfers to ride the mythic wave located in Skeleton Bay, in Namibia.

The 20th-anniversary edition of the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame will also induct surfer-shaper Rich Rudolph, writer-entrepreneur Jason Borte, veteran charger Sandy Ordille, and surfing pioneers Pam Hill, Dick Roseborough, Sid Abruzzi, among others.

  • As the novel coronavirus Covid-19 nightmare comes to an end in China, local surfers are starting to get back to the beach.
  • Are you daydreaming about a perfect day of surfing and endless rides? Here's a simple step-by-step tutorial on how to draw an ocean wave.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: