Ezekiel Lau: he won his second World Cup of Surfing title | Photo: Heff/WSL

Ezekiel Lau has taken out the 2018 Vans World Cup of Surfing, at Sunset Beach, in Hawaii.

The Hawaiian surfer won his second World Cup of Surfing title after defeating Jesse Mendes, Joan Duru and Griffin Colapinto in a final held in pumping surf.

Five years later, Lau raised the second gem of the Triple Crown of Surfing and the last event on the 2018 World Surfing (WSL) Qualifying Series schedule.

"It's incredible. I'm back. It took me a while. I've been working so hard lately. I'm so happy everything came together. My boards have been working incredible," said Lau.

"I'm finishing strong. I had a good European leg and some momentum coming into Hawaii this year. Without the pressure of having to requalify, I could focus on performing. That's what I had to do, today."

The 2018 Men's Qualifying Series is over, but the full 2019 Championship Tour (CT) roster is not yet known. There are three surfers on the QS Top 10 that could requalify for the elite of surfing via CT.

Depending on their performance in the Pipeline Masters, Griffin Colapinto, and Ezekiel Lau may open a new slot for Jack Freestone.

2018 Vans World Cup of Surfing | Final

1. Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 12.66
2. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 7.63
3. Joan Duru (FRA) 7.33
4. Griffin Colapinto (USA) 4.67

2018 Men's Qualifying Series | Rankings

1. Kainoa Igarashi (JPN)
2. Griffin Colapinto (USA)
3. Seth Moniz (HAW)
4. Ryan Callinan (AUS)
5. Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
6. Jesse Mendes (BRA)
7. Deivid Silva (BRA)
8. Ricardo Christie (NZL)
9. Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
10. Jadson Andre (BRA)
11. Soli Bailey (AUS)
12. Ezekiel Lau /HAW)
13. Jack Freestone (AUS)

Top Stories

AllWaves is a new wave pool technology from Belgium that allows surfing on an artificial lake, thus bringing surfing experiences closer to enthusiasts and landlocked surfers.

The world's first city center wave pool is ready to welcome surfers. Meet RiF010, the Dutch answer to urban surfing.

Bianca Valenti, Alo Slebir, Wilem Banks, and Jojo Roper were the standout wave riders of the 2024 Mavericks Surf Awards.

The waves at O2 SurfTown MUC are rolling. Europe's largest wave pool opens in Summer 2024 in Munich, Germany.