Sunny Garcia: surfing better with age

The Hawaiians have conquered the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship, in Montañita, Ecuador.

The final epic day of waves saw tremendous surfing performances with glassy surf, in the 6-8 feet range, at the perfect right hand point-break in Montañita.

Team Hawaii successfully defended their title of World Team Champions and winners of the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Team Trophy, named after the Peruvian founder and first President of the ISA in 1964.

Sunny Garcia and Mike Latronic secured gold medals for Hawaii by winning the Grand Masters and Kahuna titles. Australia's Layne Beachley continued her domination, winning gold and reclaiming the Women's Masters World Champion title.

Greg Emslie, from South Africa, is the new ISA Masters world champion. Emslie scored a near-perfect total heat of 19.46, the sum of two individual scores of 9.83 and 9.63.

Grand Kahuna Chris Knutsen was rewarded for his powerful surfing and impeccable wave selection with his fourth ISA World Championship. The South African reached the final via the Repechage rounds, and put on a display of powerful, clean surfing.

Team Australia won the ISA Aloha Cup showing great strategy and teamwork defeating Venezuela, in second place, Brazil in third and Hawaii in fourth.

Team Results

Hawaii - 10,844 points, Eduardo Arena Perpetual Team Trophy
South Africa - 8,976 points, Silver Medal
USA - 8,165 points, Bronze Medal
Brazil - 8,087 points, Copper Medal
Australia - 7,882 points
Argentina - 6,360 points
Venezuela - 6,357 points
Peru - 6,133 points
Costa Rica - 6,055 points
France - 6,011 points
Japan - 5,955 points
Ecuador - 5,580 points
Puerto Rico - 5,436 points
Uruguay - 4,690 points
Chile - 4,675 points
Spain - 4,515 points
Mexico - 2,716 points
Dominican Republic - 1,375
Panama - 1,110 points
Great Britain - 720 points

Top Stories

AllWaves is a new wave pool technology from Belgium that allows surfing on an artificial lake, thus bringing surfing experiences closer to enthusiasts and landlocked surfers.

The world's first city center wave pool is ready to welcome surfers. Meet RiF010, the Dutch answer to urban surfing.

Bianca Valenti, Alo Slebir, Wilem Banks, and Jojo Roper were the standout wave riders of the 2024 Mavericks Surf Awards.

The waves at O2 SurfTown MUC are rolling. Europe's largest wave pool opens in Summer 2024 in Munich, Germany.