Mega Semadhi conquers the 2016 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang

August 3, 2016 | Surfing
Mega Semadhi: he won his second Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang title | Photo: Nate Lawrence/WSL

Indonesian surfing superstar Mega Semadhi claimed the 2016 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang, in the heart of Bali.

The tube riding feast had all the names you would dream of in an all-star competition, including Bruce Irons, Bruno Santos, Paulo Moura, Jacob Willcox, and several local talents. As a result, the judges didn't keep multiple Perfect 10-point scores in the pocket.

After two rounds of waves, eight surfers moved through to the finals. The last heat had Clay Marzo, Mason Ho, Damien Hobgood, and Mega Semadhi riding for glory in clean six-to-eight-foot waves.

Semadhi, who had already won the Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang in 2013, opened his account with a nine-point ride and backed it up with an impressive, deep barrel scored with a Perfect 10.

"My first heat I was really nervous and was sloppy. I was going on small waves, bad waves, and whitewash. Luckily I got my head together and got through and was able to get into a rhythm the rest of the contest," explained Mega Semadhi.

"I'm so happy to win at my home break again,” Mega said. “But from my point of view, there is no local. We are all locals of this universe and today we are all locals at Padang Padang."

2016 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang | Final

1. Mega Semadhi (IND) 19.00
2. Damien Hobgood (USA)16.60
3. Mason Ho (HAW)15.50
4. Clay Marzo (HAW) 4.00