"Sea of Darkness" wins the Surfilm Festibal

June 15, 2010 | Surfing

Sea of Darkness: this movie saw the light

After a long arduous night, the Jury of the Surf Film Festibal has finally announced the winners.

It's been tough and the several presents and offerings from various contestants were very tempting, but at last the honesty has prevailed and we are more than honoured to announce the following The Surf Film Contest's list of winners:


Best Feature film presented by Amstel (6000€ + Trophy + Pack Amstel Surfilm Festibal): Sea of Darkness.

Special Jury mention for Río Breaks.

Special Mention of the Public for Modernist Basque Surfing.


Best Short Film presented by Amstel (1500€ + Trophy + Pack Amstel Surfilm Festibal): Birthright.

Public’s Choice Short Film presented by Volkswagen (300€ + Trophy + Pack Amstel Surfilm Festibal + Mini van Volkswagen): El mar mi alma.

Best Environmental Short Film presented by Patagonia (Trophy + pack Amstel Surfilm Festibal + Pack Patagonia + One year subscription to Surfer's Path): Puri Deitzen Diote.

Best Short Film in Euskera presented by Kutxa (Trophy + pack Amstel Surfilm Festibal + Abarcas (Bans) + One year subscription to 3sesenta): Mendikua (Revenge).

Best Local Short Film presented by Diario Vasco (Trophy + 200€ + One year subscription to 3sesenta): El Murero Común.

Best Pornosurf Short Film presented by Stab Magazine (Trophy + Pack Stab + One year subscription to Stab): Crudo y acevichado.

But in truth the winner has been the Amstel Surfilm Festibal itself and its organizers, as it is a real blessing to have the support of so many good directors that want to showcase their work during our Festibal, of such a good bunch of cool guys as members of the Jury, of so many surfers wanting to watch the films (three sold out sessions) and the help of our sponsors and contributors.

Thanks a lot to you all and see you in Bilbao on September 18.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: