Surf News Headlines and Top Stories

Melanie Redman-Carr

Veteran Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Dream Tour surfer Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS/WA/Dunsborough/33 years of age) today won her fourth Drug Aware Pro at Margaret River defeating rising Hawaiian star Coco Ho (17 years old/North Shore Ohau) in clean 1.25m (3 to 4 feet) surf.

Australia conquers the 2009 ISA World Juniors

In a dramatic come from behind victory, Team Australia was crowned the 2009 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Champions today in Salinas, Ecuador. Australians Dean Bowen and Tyler Wright won individual gold medals for Under 18 Boys and Under 18 Girls. Keanu Asing from Hawaii won the Under 16 gold medal. Team Brazil won the Aloha Cup, an Olympic style ISA specialty tag-team event.

Wave House

"There are no waves for surfing in Singapore!" For many years that has been a true statement. An island at the tip of Malaysia, Singapore is east of the giant land mass of Sumatra, and perfectly situated to be a crossroads for surfers traveling to and from Indonesia and the Mentawai Islands.

Pablo Paulino

A perfect day of surfing with Margaret River serving up ideal large 3m (8 feet) surf  which saw plenty of outstanding high scores, some big upsets , broken boards and legropes and some serious controversies!

2009 ISA World Juniors

The Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship saw one of its most intense days at Playas de la FAE. The swell continued to hold up throughout the day, delivering solid overhead surf. This afternoon the Under 18 Boys returned to the competition after a lay day yesterday.


Mavericks Surf Ventures, Inc. (Mavericks) announced today that the official waiting period for The 2009 Mavericks Surf Contest Presented by Sony Ericsson is now closed. The waiting period began on January 1, 2009 and officially ended on March 31, 2009.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: