Tamaroa McComb

Tahitian giant killer Tamaroa McComb (Coolangatta, formerly Tahiti) has made the perfect start to the Queensland leg of the ASP Australasian Pro Junior Series, taking out the coveted Hurley Burleigh Pro Junior crown in 1-1.5-metre surf on the Gold Coast today.

Burleigh Heads provided the ideal forum for the final day of competition, with hundreds of people watching on as Australia and the world’s hottest 20-years and under surfers went head-to-head in search of junior series glory.

16-year-old McComb lived up to his reputation as surfing’s next big thing, blasting past no.2 seed Julian Wilson (Coolum) in the day’s quarter-finals, NSW whiz kid Heath Joske (Nambucca Heads) in the semis before dispatching of top seed Stuart Kennedy (Lennox Head) in the championship final.

"My win hasn’t really sunk in yet.. It feels great to finally win a Pro Junior event," said McComb. "Surfing against this caliber of guys really made my victory more special. It’s such a great wave and I was just out there having fun."

McComb was at his dominating best, showcasing an innovative mix of exciting new school maneovures and powerful rail carves to collect $6,000, 3300 rating points along with an all-important wildcard spot into the trials of the World Tour event at Trestles, California in ’08.

Showing no signs of nerves in the highly anticipated 35-minute final, McComb raised the bar, bouncing back from a slow start to bag a 7.83 and an 8.93 to finish with a two-wave combination of a 16.76 (out of a possible 20) to Kennedy’s 15.70.

The Tahitian has moved into a new pad at Coolangatta, just down the road from the Superbank and Kirra, with shaper and renowned big wave surfer Dylan Longbottom.

Read more ...

Tom Hartmann

The first ever “Surf and Kite Austria - Movie Awards” were presented mid January at the Surfer’s Lounge party on a boat right in the center of Vienna.

Awards were given away for best Austrian windsurfing, kitesurfing and surfing movies of the year 2007.

Naish Sails rider Tom Hartmann was crowned as winner in the “Best Windsurfing Video” category for his production “Tropical Waters II” which was also awarded second place overall.

Source: Naish TV

Dane Williams

Police searched Monday for a 23-year-old man who disappeared from downtown San Diego over the weekend.

Dane Chandler Williams was last seen at Sixth and K streets leaving Hard Rock Cafe around 2 a.m. Saturday, according to San Diego police Sgt. Garry Collins.

Williams is from the Los Angeles area and in town for a convention. He did not return to his hotel room after leaving the restaurant, nor did he show up for work at the convention the next day, Collins said.

Foul play is not suspected yet, but friends fear something bad may have happened because for Williams not to show up for work is out of character, Collins said.

Williams has blonde hair, brown eyes and is around 6 feet 1, weighing about 175 pounds. He was wearing a black shirt with white strips and blue jeans. Anyone with information on Williams' whereabouts is asked to call San Diego police at (619) 531-2000.

Source: Hurley

August 3, 2016, was a day that surfers should never forget. For the first time in its long history, surfing was confirmed in the Olympic Games.

+ Surfing News

When you're getting into kiteboarding and buying gear, you're investing in your physical and mental health. So, is kitesurfing an expensive hobby? What is the cost of entry into the sport?

+ Kiteboarding News

Is your bodyboard heavier than you think it should be? Are you unsure whether there's water in your boogie board? Here's how to check if you're board is soaked.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

The Wakesurf Edge Pro Shaper promises the biggest and longest wake wave in the world.

+ Wakeboarding News