Cory Teunissen: Rookie of the Year 2015 | Photo: Garrison/Red Bull

Cory Teunissen has been named "Rookie of the Year" of the 2015 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour.

The wakeboarder from Brisbane, Queensland finished the circuit in the runner-up position behind fellow Australian rider Harley Clifford.

With an outstanding performance throughout the Tour, Cory Teunissen managed to win the competition held at Traxler Park, in Janesville and even landed the first-ever wake-to-wake 1080 in a pro contest.

"Cory's passion for the sport, drive to excel, and amazing athleticism led him to be Rookie of the Year," explains Chris Bischoff, tournament director.

"He incessantly pushes himself forward and heats up the competition among fellow pro athletes in the industry. This season showed he deserved it, and we're excited to see what is to come next year."

Cory Teunissen's dream season is just the beginning of a long winning journey. In 2014, he had already won the Junior Pro Men division.

Rob Bain, Layne Beachley, and Dave Macaulay have taken out the Azores Airlines World Masters Championship in the Grand Masters, Women's Masters and Men's Masters divisions held in good three-foot surf at Praia de Santa Barbara.

+ Surfing News

Dimitri Maramenides, the founder and owner of Epic Kites, rode his kite a few hours before Hurricane Florence hit the East Coast of the United States.

+ Kiteboarding News