Trialists set for 2019 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational

February 22, 2019 | Bodyboarding
2019 Pipe Trials: riders enjoyed great wave at Makapuu Beach Park | Photo: Gonzo/APB

Eleven trialists have earned a spot on the 2019 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational.

The 2019 Pipe Invitational Trials got underway at Makapuu Beach Park, on Oahu's southeastern coast, where riders were greeted by near-perfect ocean conditions.

Initially, the plan was to run the contest at Keaau Beach Park, on the west coast of Oahu, but the surf forecast was not ideal.

As a result, the organization, led by Mike Stewart, was forced to move the competition, and the men's, women's and drop-knee trials ended up getting glassy four-to-five-foot surf and offshore winds.

The winners of the golden tickets for the Pipeline Invitational were Kahekili Labatte, Alistar Taylor, Chris Hodges, and Santiago Kirchner.

Sari Ohhara, Karla Costa and Traci Effinger will join Ayaka Suzuki, as the four will battle it out against their male counterparts in the main event.

Mack Crilley, Sammy Morretino, Kawika Rohr-Kamai, and Dayton Wago will compete for the drop-knee title in a four-man final.

The 2019 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational is a one-day event. It will get green light between February 24 and March 8, at Banzai Pipeline, on the North Shore of Oahu.

2019 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational | Round 1 Matchups

Heat 1
1. Pierre Louis Costes (FRA)
2. Liam Lucas (AUS)
3. Guilherme Tamega (BRA)
4. Kahekili Labatte (HAW)

Heat 2
1. Alan Muñoz (CHI)
2. Andre Bernardo (POR)
3. Spence Skipper (HAW)
4. Traci Effinger (HAW)

Heat 3
1. Mike Stewart (HAW)
2. Mack Crilley (HAW)
3. Timmy Hamilton (HAW)
4. Matt Holzman (HAW)

Heat 4
1. Hayato Enokido (JAP)
2. Jacob Romero (HAW)
3. Nakana Rivera (HAW)
4. PJ Tarkat (PRI)

Heat 5
1. Jared Houston (RSA)
2. Kane Brewer (AUS)
3. Sean Uyechi (USA)
4. Santiago Kirchner (HAW)

Heat 6
1. Tanner McDaniel (HAW)
2. Pohaku Kekaualua(HAW)
3. Jeff Hubbard (HAW)
4. Alistar Taylor (HAW)

Heat 7
1. Dudu Pedra (BRA)
2. Jun Tohyama (JAP)
3. Magno Passos (BRA)
4. Karla Costa (HAW)

Heat 8
1. Sammy Morretino (HAW)
2. Dave Hubbard (HAW)
3. Davin Alexander (HAW)
4. Sari Ohhara (JAP)

Heat 9
1. Patrick Orr (HAW)
2. Diego Cabrera (CNY)
3. Ian McCaulley (HAW)
4. Ayaka Suzuki (JAP)

Heat 10
1. Iain Campbell (RSA)
2. Kawika Kamai (HAW)
3. Cristobal Sciaraffia (CHI)
4. Chris Hodges (USA)