Christophe Tack lands historic Whirly Bird 5

September 8, 2014 | Kiteboarding
Christophe Tack: making history in Tarifa | Photo: PKRA/Toby Bromwich

Christophe Tack and Karolina Winkowska has been crowned winners of the Tarifa Pro Kite Tour 2014, in Spain.

Winds in the 16-knot range returned to Tarifa for the final day of competition. The world's best freestyle kiteboarders concluded eight days of action, including a Big Air contest.

The Women's final proved to be a close heat when Karolina Winkowska met Bruna Kajiya in the battle for the top spot. Kajiya began solid and rode with consistency and confidence, but it was Winkowska's execution that gave her the win, edging out Kajiya by 0.8 points.

"I've been waiting so long for that final for two days now and the whole day today. When you wait, you always have so many thoughts in your head," says Winkowska, who is looking forward to be crowned world champion.

In the Men's decisive heat, Liam Whaley started out solid as he landed three big early tricks. Tack had a late start, but stomped a nice Front Blind Mobe and Crow Mobe 5 to gain momentum. Tack continued and launched into a Slim 7, giving him a boost of confidence to later land a Whirly Bird 5, a trick that has never been seen before in the history of competitive kiteboarding.

"I landed the First Whirly Bird 5 in a competition. I thought I couldn't pull it off, but then I saw this little wave and I thought okay, short edge, flat, and push the water away. I was just spinning, then passed the handle, and then I landed it. I couldn't believe it!," underlined Tack.

"I was stressing early on in the heat and then, when I landed that, I was asking myself why would I stress? He's the guy who needs to beat me twice. I can make mistakes, he's the guy without breathing room."

Tarifa Pro Kite Tour 2014 | Double Elimination Men

1. Christophe Tack (BE)
2. Liam Whaley (ES)
3. Eudazio Da Silva (BR)
4. Youri Zoon (NL)

Tarifa Pro Kite Tour 2014 | Double Elimination Women

1. Karolina Winkowska (PL)
2. Bruna Kajiya (BR)
3. Gisela Pulido (ES)
4. Annelous Lammerts (NL) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.