Adriano de Souza: the Brazilian dedicated the world title to the late Ricardo dos Santos | Photo: Kirstin/WSL

The ultimate showdown. The most intense world title race of the century. The most dramatic surfing season of all time. Adriano de Souza, 28, is the undisputed 2015 World Surf League (WSL) champion. And he is the first Brazilian to conquer the Billabong Pipe Masters.

In the beginning, there were six world title contenders. In the end, only one could win. The most important day of the year for professional surfers kicked off with silky four-to-six-foot waves. It wasn't firing, but the 2015 Billabong Pipe Masters will forever remain in the hearts of millions of surf fans.

Three surfers paddled out, knowing they could raise the trophy of their lives. And then celebrate at lunchtime. Gabriel Medina knew that if Fanning reached the semifinals, he would be out of the equation. Adriano de Souza had to finish ahead of Mick.

Medina won his quarterfinal against CJ Hobgood. Fanning survived a tense clash against Slater and narrowed the title race to just him and De Souza. Kerr wanted to help his Australian friend, but Adriano made sure he wanted to take the game into the dying heats of the season.

Fans in the beach started to get stressed. Gabriel Medina versus Mick Fanning. Does it get better than that? With two minutes to go, the 2014 champion pulls an air, takes the lead, and wins the heat. Only Mason Ho could save the Australian.

The pressure was on Adriano de Souza. With a victory against the Hawaiian, "Mineirinho" would clinch a maiden WSL title. But the Brazilian wanted it so much that he ended up stealing the heat from Ho's fins in a neurotic low-scoring affair. Adriano de Souza is the 2015 World Surf League champion.

"It's an incredible feeling and so special in dedication to my good friend Ricardo dos Santos. About midway through the year, I thought Mick deserved the world title more than I did. I wanted to hug Mick's mum, but I was scared because we were in a world title race," an emotional Adriano de Souza said in tears.

Adriano de Souza: he won his first ever World Surf League title | Photo: Masurel/WSL

The day of my life arrived. I need to have a break and get back there again. When I lost in Portugal, I was so sad. Jamie [O'Brien] helped me here, and I want to dedicate this to my brother as well, who bought me my first surfboard for seven dollars, and now I'm on top of the world. I thank God. I feel blessed, and I will carry the soul of Ricardo here on Earth."

Adriano de Souza, the "hard worker," dedicated his first World Surf League title to the late Brazilian surfer Ricardo dos Santos. Gabriel Medina is also the first Brazilian to win the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

It was a bittersweet defeat for Mick Fanning. The three-time world surfing champion lost his eldest brother and put out an incredible performance. The "White Lightning" did his best, despite the emotional rollercoaster he's been through.

Fanning put those emotions to the side and conquered thousands of new fans throughout the world. Kelly Slater was backing and supporting Mick. In a single year, the Australian survived everything - a shark attack, superheats, and the loss of a sibling. He is a spectacular vice-world champion and made his country proud.

A final word for Clifton James "CJ" Hobgood. The Floridian competed for the first time in 1989. Twenty-six years later, he decided to retire. With a world title (2001), multiple event wins, and lots of memories.

"I've lived a dream life. I've been fortunate for the past 17 years of my life with the best surfers in the world. I am happy to leave. The surfers are better; they are better characters. Thank you, WSL, for giving me the stage to perform. The sport is getting better and better," expressed CJ Hobgood.

Check the calendar for the 2016 Men's Championship Tour (CT), and take a look at the new faces on the Dream Tour.

2015 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons | Final

1. Adriano de Souza (BRA), 14.07
2. Gabriel Medina (BRA), 8.50

2015 World Surf League Men's Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour | Top 5

1. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
2. Mick Fanning (AUS)
3. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
4. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
5. Owen Wright (AUS)

World Surfing Titles | The Best Ever

Kelly Slater (USA): 11
Mark Richards (AUS): 4+1
Mick Fanning (AUS): 3
Andy Irons (HAW): 3
Tom Curren (USA): 3
Damien Hardman (AUS): 2
Tom Carroll (AUS): 2

Top Stories

The world's first city center wave pool is ready to welcome surfers. Meet RiF010, the Dutch answer to urban surfing.

AllWaves is a new wave pool technology from Belgium that allows surfing on an artificial lake, thus bringing surfing experiences closer to enthusiasts and landlocked surfers.

Three foreign surfers were murdered while on a surf trip through Baja California, Mexico.

Bianca Valenti, Alo Slebir, Wilem Banks, and Jojo Roper were the standout wave riders of the 2024 Mavericks Surf Awards.