Billy Kemper: chasing a fast line at Puerto Escondido | Photo: Surf Open League

Billy Kemper and Bianca Valenti claimed the 2019 Puerto Escondido Cup in Playa Zicatela, Mexico.

The big wave surfing event is not part of the World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Tour, but it was no less exciting thanks to a solid south swell that stormed the spot.

Waves in the double overhead range allowed athletes to choose between right and left-handers. Spectators witnessed heavy wipeouts and a few minor injuries.

Kemper defeated Gabriel Villaran, Marcial Monreal, Jafet Ramos, Cesar Petroni, and Cristian Merello in the final.

"I came here with one goal and got it. I felt great out there all day. Thanks to my coach and Carlos Tangaro for a good couple of weeks of work," said Kemper.

"Sharing perfect barrels with locals and internationals was truly a blessing. I am feeling very grateful for all the support. Thanks to the people of Puerto Escondido for welcoming us and putting on such a sick comp!"

Both male and female winners received equal prize money thanks to a successful crowdfunding campaign.

Bianca Valenti: she deserved the win at the 2019 Puerto Escondido Cup | Photo: Surf Open League

On the women's final, Valenti stood above Emily Erickson, Isabelle Leonhardt, Raquel Heckert, Keala Kennelly, and Michaela Fregonese.

"I am so stoked to see how meaningful this is for the local community and all the women here. And thanks, WSL, for paving the way," expressed Valenti.

2019 Puerto Escondido Cup | Finals

1. Billy Kemper (HAW)
2. Gabriel Villaran (PER)
3. Marcial Monreal (MEX)
4. Jafet Ramos (MEX)
5. Cesar Petroni (MEX)
6. Cristian Merello (CHI)

1. Bianca Valenti (USA) 26.20
2. Emily Erickson (HAW) 24.05
3. Isabelle Leonhardt (MEX) 22.20
4. Raquel Heckert (BRA) 20.58
5. Keala Kennelly (HAW) 19.19
6. Michaela Fregonese (BRA) 2.86

Top Stories

The world's first city center wave pool is ready to welcome surfers. Meet RiF010, the Dutch answer to urban surfing.

AllWaves is a new wave pool technology from Belgium that allows surfing on an artificial lake, thus bringing surfing experiences closer to enthusiasts and landlocked surfers.

Three foreign surfers were murdered while on a surf trip through Baja California, Mexico.

Bianca Valenti, Alo Slebir, Wilem Banks, and Jojo Roper were the standout wave riders of the 2024 Mavericks Surf Awards.