Costa Rica wins the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games

June 8, 2015 | Surfing
Team Costa Rica: Noe Mar McGonagle kicks off the celebrations | Photo: ISA/Nelly

Costa Rica conquered the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games (WSG) at Playa Popoyo, in Nicaragua.

In the Men's final, Noe Mar McGonagle rode a near-perfect 9.93 wave, and another one in the eight-point range to steal the gold medal from Nic Von Rupp, Shane Holmes, and Leandro Usuna.

"I didn't do it for myself; I did it for Costa Rica. We come to these ISA events to do the best for our country, and I knew a win in my heat would give us the points we needed for the team Gold. Costa Rica is a small country, but we have a big heart and the most supportive people. I dedicate this to them," expressed McGonagle.

The Women's final saw Tia Blanco control the waves of Popoyo. The American was carried up the beach by her teammates after she took the gold medal away from Leilani McGonagle, Ella Williams, and Chelsea Tuach.

"It means the world to me, to win this gold medal for the USA. I am so stoked! Getting carried up the beach by my coach and Damien Hobgood was a dream come true - it was one for the memory book. Thank you to everyone who believed in me, I could not do it without you," added Blanco.

There were 27 national surfing teams competing in Nicaragua. The final saw surfers challenging themselves in overhead to double overhead waves, therefore it was time for celebration.

"This has been a historical week for surfing, the ISA and the beautiful host nation of Nicaragua. I want to thank each and every athlete for surfing in the name of their nation," concluded Fernando Aguerre, president of the International Surfing Association.

"More than medals, I hope every person leaves here with memories of the outstanding ISA event and new friends from our international community."

2015 ISA World Surfing Games | Medals

Gold Medal – Noe Mar McGonagle (CRI)
Silver Medal – Nic Von Rupp (POR)
Bronze Medal – Shane Holmes (AUS)
Copper Medal – Leandro Usuna (ARG)

Gold Medal – Tia Blanco (USA)
Silver Medal – Leilani McGonagle (CRI)
Bronze Medal – Ella Williams (NZL)
Copper Medal – Chelsea Tuach (BAR)

1. Costa Rica
2. Portugal
3. USA
4. Peru
5. Australia
6. Argentina
7. Ecuador
8. New Zealand
9. Chile
10. Mexico
11. Puerto Rico
12. Japan
13. Uruguay
14. Nicaragua
15. Guatemala
16. Panama
17. Barbados
18. Switzerland
19. El Salvador
20. Scotland
21. Brazil
22. Venezuela
23. Virgin Islands
24. Germany
25. Israel
26. Denmark
27. Sweden