Gabriel Medina: the first goofy-footed surfer to win at Jeffreys Bay in 30 years | Photo: Tostee/WSL

Gabriel Medina and Carissa Moore have taken out the 2019 Corona Open J-Bay in Jeffreys Bay, South Africa.

It was the first time in 30 years that a goofy-footed surfer won the prestigious South African event.

The all-Brazilian final pitted Gabriel Medina against Italo Ferreira, making it also the first-ever all-goofy-foot final at Supertubes.

"It feels so good. This is a hard contest to win. I just had a lot of fun this week, and I wasn't expecting this," expressed Medina.

Medina found the scores he needed at the last minute and added another trophy to his already highly successful career.

"I never give up. Something clicked after Ryan's heat. I was losing that heat, and after that, I just thought, 'Let's do it.' Nothing is impossible."

The next stop on the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Men's Championship Tour (CT) is the Tahiti Pro Teahupoo. The event runs from August 21 through September 1.

Carissa Moore: drawing beautiful lines at Jeffreys Bay | Photo: Tostee/WSL

On the women's final, Moore only found the waves she needed to win the event after a few average scoring rides.

It was her first event victory of the season after a couple of finals.

"I am so stoked. I was wondering when that win was going to come. I am so happy," said a very emotional Carissa Moore.

2019 Corona Open J-Bay | Finals

1. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 19.50
2. Italo Ferreira BRA) 16.77

1. Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.47
2. Lakey Peterson (USA) 14.60

Top Stories

We can't choose our height, and 80 percent of it is genetic. But if you're into surfing, taller and shorter surfers feel noticeable differences in getting acquainted with boards, paddling for, and riding a wave.

Cole Houshmand and Caitlin Simmers have claimed the 2024 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

At 32, Laura Enever is slowly building a name in women's big wave surfing. And to make her vlogger debut on YouTube, the Australian chose Cloudbreak.

Ryan Crosby is the new chief executive officer (CEO) of the World Surf League (WSL).