Julian Wilson: Pipe Master and winner of the Triple Crown of Surfing| Photo: ASP/Masurel

The samba party has just begun. Gabriel Medina takes the 2014 ASP World Tour, and he is the first-ever Brazilian champion in the history of professional surfing.

But Could Gabriel Medina back the 2014 ASP World Tour title with a victory in the Billabong Pipe Masters?

The surfer from Maresias, São Paulo, put on the yellow jersey for a laid-back final against Julian Wilson. But battles are always battles.

A few hours before, Medina had done his job. He eliminated Dusty Payne (Round 3), defeated Kerr and Toledo (Round 4, quarterfinal, and semifinal), and saw Slater and Fanning being knocked out in Round 3 and Round 5, respectively.

Gabriel was writing several pages of history. The Brazilian was also the first 20-year-old to claim a world surfing title since Kelly Slater in 1992.

And the second-ever Brazilian to reach a Pipe Masters final.

The final of the 2014 Billabong Pipe Masters opened with two superb Backdoor barrels by both surfers to conquer the crowd on the beach.

A 10-point ride signed by Medina and a 9.93 wave ride by the Australian.

Gabriel would back the perfect score with an eight-pointer, and Julian Wilson didn't find a winning wave until the last minute.

The Australian had just stolen the 2014 Billabong Pipe Masters and the Triple Crown of Surfing.

"It was an incredible day, and I'm honestly speechless. Words can't describe it; I don't even know how to feel yet. To win the Pipe Masters in good waves and have been out in the water for three heats in a row is amazing. I just found a groove and me and Gabriel got to duel it out - that's what it's all about," expressed Wilson.

"Congrats to Gabriel on his world title. To win this with Andy's name on it is the most special day in my life. I can't really say anything else. I want to thank everybody, my family, who's back home, and my beautiful girlfriend. I wish you guys were here, but I really didn't expect this to happen."

The 2014 ASP World Championship Tour is over. The 2015 World Surf League is already on.

2014 Billabong Pipe Masters | Final

Julian Wilson (AUS), 19.63 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA), 19.20

Top Stories

Oaxaca is one of Mexico's surfing treasure states. The south-facing territory receives privileged swells from the Pacific with a rugged coastline that produces all types of waves.

Cole Houshmand and Caitlin Simmers have claimed the 2024 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

At 32, Laura Enever is slowly building a name in women's big wave surfing. And to make her vlogger debut on YouTube, the Australian chose Cloudbreak.

We can't choose our height, and 80 percent of it is genetic. But if you're into surfing, taller and shorter surfers feel noticeable differences in getting acquainted with boards, paddling for, and riding a wave.