The top surfers of the 2016 World Surf League

December 21, 2015 | Surfing
Michel Bourez: confirmed in the 2016 World Championship Tour | Photo: Cestari

Thirty-four male surfers and seventeen female surfers. The 2016 World Championship Tour roster has been defined.

We know the schedule, and we know the surfers. Everyone is ready to kick off the new surfing season. There are fresh new faces in both the Men's and Women's Dream Tour.

The 2016 World Surf League Men's Championship Tour will be comprised of 13 Australian surfers, ten Brazilian wave riders, five competitors from the USA, two Hawaiian surfers, a rider from France, a surfer from Polynesia, and two unnamed wildcards:

Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Mick Fanning (AUS)
Gabriel Medina (BRA)
Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Owen Wright (AUS)
Julian Wilson (AUS)
Italo Ferreira (BRA)
Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Kelly Slater (USA)
Nat Young (USA)
Josh Kerr (AUS)
Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Joel Parkinson (AUS)
John John Florence (HAW)
Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
Taj Burrow (AUS)
Kai Otton (AUS)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Keanu Asing (HAW)
Michel Bourez (PYF)
Jadson Andre (BRA)
Caio Ibelli (BRA)
Kolohe Andino (USA)
Jack Freestone (AUS)
Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Conner Coffin (USA)
Davey Cathels (AUS)
Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Wildcard (TBA)
Wildcard (TBA)

The 2016 World Surf League Women's Championship Tour will feature six Australian athletes, five Hawaiian surfer girls, three US riders, and sole representatives from South Africa, Barbados, and France. They are:

Carissa Moore (HAW)
Courtney Conlogue (USA)
Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
Tyler Wright (AUS)
Lakey Peterson (USA)
Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)
Johanne Defay (FRA)
Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Malia Manuel (HAW)
Sage Erickson (USA)
Chelsea Tuach (BRB)
Keely Andrew (AUS)
Alessa Quizon (HAW)
Coco Ho (HAW)
Laura Enever (AUS)
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

The first events of the 2016 World Surf League are the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast, to hit Australia from March 10th-21st.

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2023 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers