The top surfers of the 2019 World Surf League

December 18, 2018 | Surfing
World Surf League: Gabriel Medina will defend his Championship Tour title in 2019 | Photo: Sloane/WSL

The 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Men's Championship Tour (CT) will feature competitors from ten different nations.

The top 34 includes 11 Brazilian surfers, eight Australian athletes, four American competitors, four Hawaiian surfers, two French wave riders, and single representatives from South Africa, Tahiti, Japan, Italy, and New Zealand.

The men's 2019 CT is comprised of the top 22 ranked surfers on the 2018 Championship Tour rankings, the top 10 surfers ranked on the year-end Qualifying Series (QS) rankings, plus two wildcards.

Kelly Slater and John John Florence received the two golden tickets for the elite class of 2019, since they reported long injuries, and placed higher than Caio Ibelli.

The 2019 Championship Tour will also determine 18 of the 40 places available for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games - 10 male surfers, and 8 female surfers with a maximum of 2 men and 2 women per country.

1. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2. Julian Wilson (AUS)
3. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
4. Italo Ferreira (BRA)
5. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
6. Owen Wright (AUS)
7. Conner Coffin (USA)
8. Michel Bourez (PYF)
9. Wade Carmichael (AUS)
10. Kanoa Igarashi (JAP)
11. Kolohe Andino (USA)
12. Mikey Wright (AUS)
13. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
14. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
15. Michael Rodrigues (BRA)
16. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
17. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
18. Griffin Colapinto (USA)
19. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
20. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
21. Yago Dora (BRA)
22. Joan Duru (FRA)
23. Seth Moniz (HAW)
24. Ryan Callinan (AUS)
25. Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
26. Jesse Mendes (BRA)
27. Deivid Silva (BRA)
28. Ricardo Christie (NZL)
29. Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
30. Jadson Andre (BRA)
31. Soli Bailey (AUS)
32. Jack Freestone (AUS)
33. Kelly Slater (USA)
34. John John Florence (HAW)

1st Replacement: Caio Ibelli (BRA)
2nd Replacement: Frederico Morais (PRT)
3rd Replacement: Ethan Ewing (AUS)

The women's 2019 CT features the top 10 ranked surfers on the 2018 Championship Tour rankings, the top six surfers ranked on the year-end Qualifying Series (QS) rankings, plus one wildcard.

Two-time women's world surfing champion, Tyler Wright will likely earn a spot in the top 17.

1. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2. Lakey Peterson (USA)
3. Carissa Moore (HAW)
4. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)
5. Johanne Defay (FRA)
6. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
7. Caroline Marks (USA)
8. Courtney Conlogue (USA)
9. Malia Manuel (HAW)
10. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
11. Coco Ho (HAW)
12. Paige Hareb (NZL)
13. Bronte Macaulay (AUS)
14. Macy Callaghan (AUS)
15. Brisa Hennessy (CRI)
16. Silvana Lima (BRA)
17. Tyler Wright (AUS)

1st Replacement: Keely Andrew (AUS)
2nd Replacement: Sage Erickson (USA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019