Tyler Wright: getting barreled at Honolua Bay | Photo: Poullenot/WSL

Tyler Wright is your 2017 World Surf League (WSL) women's champion.

The Australian surfer secured a back-to-back Championship Tour (CT) title after reaching the semifinals of the Maui Women's Pro, and watching her direct opponents - Sally Fitzgibbons and Courtney Conlogue - fall early in the competition.

"I have just been having the best week, and I cannot explain how much this week has meant to me. All through the year, there have been little ups-and-downs, but to be at this moment right now in the position. I was happy before I won and I am just as happy now," expressed Wright.

Throughout the season, the 23-year-old surfer was only able to win the Oi Rio Women's Pro, but her highly consistent performances kept her in the title race until the last minute. Despite suffering an injury in Portugal, Wright stepped up her game and finished third in France.

"It was such a time of learning and growing that I took so much more from it than the knee injury itself. This year has just been one where I could have bowed out a lot of times but chose not to. I wouldn't be here if it wasn't for my team," added the newly crowned 2017 women's world surfing champion.

"I decided in 2015 that I was going to win one every year and I want to hold true to that. Working with Glenn over the last two years has been incredible. We have this long plan, and I plan to stick to it. Back-to-back is just a true testament to his dedication and the work he puts in non-stop."

Tyler Wright | Championship Tour Career Rankings

2017: 1st
2016: 1st
2015: 5th
2014: 2nd
2013: 2nd
2012: 4th
2011: 4th

Top Stories

The most successful competitive surfer of all time, Kelly Slater, rode what may have been the last heat of his 24-year professional career.

We can't choose our height, and 80 percent of it is genetic. But if you're into surfing, taller and shorter surfers feel noticeable differences in getting acquainted with boards, paddling for, and riding a wave.

Ryan Crosby is the new chief executive officer (CEO) of the World Surf League (WSL).

Nothing fuels more controversy in and outside the water than awarding scores for waves ridden in competitive surfing.