XXL victory for Sebastian Steudtner at the Big Wave Awards

May 2, 2015 | Surfing
Sebastian Steudtner: the biggest ride of the 2014/2015 scored in Nazaré | Photo: Everton Luis/WSL

Sebastian Steudtner has won the "XXL Biggest Wave" award for a monstrous ride in Nazaré, Portugal. The German surfer from Nuremberg was one of the seven winners of the 2015 World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Awards, held in Southern California.

Two thousand individualities gathered in Anaheim, California, to pick the greatest rides of the 2014/2015 big wave surfing season.

"Thanks to my team, and thanks to Tom Butler for getting me on to the biggest wave. I'm proud of having surfed the biggest wave that was caught in Europe. The world record would be great, but I'm not obsessed about that," expressed Sebastian Steudtner.

According to the Big Wave Awards panel of judges, the "Ride of the Year" belongs to Shane Dorian, who also collected the "Best Overall Performance" title.

Jamie Mitchell won the "Biggest Paddle" for his ride at Mavericks on December 20th, 2014. The Tahitian charger Matahi Drollet conquered the "Tube of the Year" for an impressive, deep barrel in Teahupoo.

The "Women's Best Overall Performance" goes to Paige Alms, while Benjamin Sanchis wins "Wipeout of the Year," for a dangerous big wave accident in the powerful Nazaré Canyon.

2015 WSL Big Wave Awards Winners:

XXL Biggest Wave: Sebastian Steudtner (GER)
Ride of the Year: Shane Dorian (HAW)
Best Overall Performance: Shane Dorian (HAW)
Biggest Paddle: Jamie Mitchell (AUS)
Tube of the Year: Matahi Drollet (PYF)
Women's Best Overall Performance: Paige Alms (HAW)
Wipeout of the Year Award: Benjamin Sanchis (FRA)